Day 12 - Is that a 10 mile wide canyon in your pocket, or are you just happy to see me?


Advertisement
Published: June 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Mather PointMather PointMather Point

Eastern view from our first of two vistas.
Today's big adventure -Grand Canyon!

A little back story - Mom and I have been on the road for 2 solid days, mostly in the rather toasty desert. This means air conditioning in the car. Really, not enough to aclimate. The forecast for the South Rim was a high of 88 degrees. I can handle the warmer stuff as long as I'm hydrated, but Mom has serious issues with the heat.

This being said...

Our plan was to explore as long as Mom held out, then go back to the National Geographic visitor center to watch the IMAX film about the Canyon. Then we were going to head back up to watch the sunset from one of the western facing points.

Problem #1 - Mom didn't last too long in the exploring dept, so we only made it to two spots before we went to the movie.

Problem #2 - Apparently my motion sickness is triggered by sweeping camera pans in IMAX films. I seriously wanted to die by the end of it. I had to keep my eyes closed for the last 5 minutes just so that I wouldn't throw up in the theater. Then
Yavapai PointYavapai PointYavapai Point

Our second vista. In the middle is the formation called Buddha Temple.
I had to settle for a Pepsi to try and calm the stomach (doesn't do the trick like a real Coke).

It was so bad that we had to go back to the hotel and I skipped dinner. Me. I don't skip meals unless I'm pretty bad. Even though we had a limited viewing I think I got the idea. Holy crap is that thing frigging huge!!! It is officially on my places to spend a long vacation at. It was kind of a bummer that we didn't last that long.

Up next - A visit with Great-aunt Lucy


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Me & the CanyonMe & the Canyon
Me & the Canyon

My feet at Yavapai Point


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb