Day 19: Denied at Denali


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska
May 31st 2017
Published: May 31st 2017
Edit Blog Post

IMG_6193IMG_6193IMG_6193

First mountain after the rain! Must be the Alaska range...
Good-bye Denali, never even got to get a peek (pun intended) at you, but thank you for the moose who ran right in front of our RV. But, I'm sorry that the idiot driver who tried to pass us on the right almost hit you, and even worse, ruined my close-up picture of you!
And so, we headed off to our destination for the day: Portage ( try and find That on Mapquest). We passed through Cantwell ( pop. 183) where the suggested activity was blueberry picking. Somehow, picking blueberries with bears in the supposed vicinity (they happen to love them!) is not on my must-do list...
So, we skipped that juicy town and detoured about 24 miles (you'll find out about this mileage in a bit) to Talkeetna so Peggy could buy a t shirt for her son, Matt, who successfully climbed Denali. Talkeetna is a good size town, for this area, that is,(pop. 876) that serves as a stopping point for hikers on their way to base camp for Denali. ( Since, as you know, I never even got to see Denali in all its wonder, I guess it really doesn't matter as I would never climb it, or
IMG_6198IMG_6198IMG_6198

Another mountain
any other mountain for that matter). So, iI decided to buy myself a t-shirt with ALL the mountains in Alaska!!!? I read that Talkeetna (love this name!) is a modern tourist (lol) destination, and I marvel at the fact that the way you get this town is the same way you leave: it's a dead end!--take that any way you want...So, Peggy went on the hunt for Matt's t-shirt while Tom, Q and I hunted down the Talkeetna Roadhouse where we feasted on Reindeer Pasty! (Sorry, Rudolph, but it was delicious.)
We then turned around ( had to, no choice) and flew off to Portage. The Mile Post Book promised turn-outs with views of Denali, but intermittent rain and clouds ended any hope of see the USA's highest mountain.
However, the fickle weather changed and rewarded us with some magnificent views. Don't ask me to name the mountain ranges ( after you've seen one, they all sort of look the same, and besides, just look at my t-shirt if you really want to know.. they're all listed on the back!) They are pretty, tho. Q made me take at least 30 on his camera---he really should let me drive because
IMG_6212IMG_6212IMG_6212

Sovereign Mountain???
I hate taking pictures as I bounce up and down in my "little tan wagon"! And, half the time my finger is in the way.... so, out of the 7 I took, you'll probably get 3!
I think Q finally realized if he wanted some decent photos that offer some of the grandest scenery of Alaska, he'd have to stop the RV, get out and take them himself. (I still don't know why he won't accept the fact that I should be the driver! He'd be content madly clicking his camera while I'd be madly racing down the highway.?
Wait til you see his pictures of Cook's Inlet and then compare them with mine---you'll get the picture!!!!!! Picture taking is just not my thing; in fact, I grrr ?Every time Q makes me get in a picture. But, I paste on a smile and usually feel that heres another one that I'd rather people not see.
Okay, I know you're as tired as I am about talking about taking pictures. I will say this, tho, if I get to see a bear, I'll not complain.
I guess I can start complaining again because once more, all the Mile Post promises
IMG_6221IMG_6221IMG_6221

Cook's Inlet
were fake news!
I'm now at the Campsite---yes, Portage does exist. Sandy and Ray German were already there with their friends, gathered in a circle ( rather reminiscent of covered wagon circles) happily imbibing. Think I'll join them!
See ya!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

IMG_6226IMG_6226
IMG_6226

Cook's Inlet
IMG_6174IMG_6174
IMG_6174

Could have been a great picture now


Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0608s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb