Day 15: Skagway-USA BUT NO WIFI


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska
May 28th 2017
Published: May 28th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I just knew I was going to like Skagway. After getting up, I was ready to check out this booming metropolis, population, 1000!
But I had to wait: looking at my watch I found it was 4:00a.m!
When it was time for the rest of the world to awaken, we headed off to the Ferry terminal at 9:00 to check in and get in line. Then we hit the shops for about 4 hours; picked up the proverbial tourist gifts: t-shirts and some other things ,as well; one being The Famous Ulou Alaskan knife that Q just had to have... Still no place for manicures for me?. I guess this a do-it-yourself town. The big thrill, as told to me by a young cashier, is waiting for the grocery truck to come. I suppose food is more important than one's nails...
At 3:30 we ferried ( yes, it is a word) to Haines. After yet another time change and going back into Canada and seeing some beautiful scenery, we ended up at Lake Kathleen(the boondocks): I cannot believe my life has come to this: we are staying IN A CAMPGROUND: woods, probably bears (good thing I bought 5 bear balls) moose, (although they've made no appearance thus far in my life!) and NO ELECTRICITY. No photo of the campsite as I refused to leave the RV. I'm going to bed. Good Night!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb