Day 11


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska
July 29th 2005
Published: November 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Home againHome againHome again

You know you are home, when a momma moose and her twins are laying in the yard to greet you as you return... Alaska living at its best...
So we drove to Scully's which is open 24 hours. After debating what candy to buy, we smelled fresh coffee. Scully said we could filll our mugs in the empty cafe. I went up the three steps catching my sandal on the 2nd, stumbling up the third and onto the deck through the back door, grabbed the booth table and did a 180 and landed on my a$$! All the while my mom was laughing at me, and all I could do is laugh as well. Later I discovered that I had bruised my hand with my watch and I have a four inch bruise on my right forearm and a large bruise on my heel area. Fun stuff! Fatique on the road is a joy!

At Beaver Creek, we pulled over to sleep for about 2 hours and then drove to the border. There we met Murdock, the man with no life and a graveyard customs duty. He took out every single peice of paperwork and looked at everything, slowly, did not put it back and then checked our licenses and asked what was in our rooftop carrier. It was close to ten or fifteen minutes or more.

Onward we drove through fog and rain, wishing for a dry camping spot. I drove into a place called Deadman Lake, boy oh boy do I want to go back there to fish. We kept driving and stopped for three hours on the side of the road to sleep. the remainder of the trip is mostly uneventful, other than we switched again and mom drove through almost to Palmer through the Pass. We ate dinner at Yen King in Anchorage, man was that GOOD! Yummy, and off we drove home again. We checked to see if salmon were running in Portage, and looked at the glacier and tunnel before getting back on the road. We are at Jeanne and Darrens now and looking forward to a good nights rest.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb