Juneau


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Juneau
July 7th 2016
Published: July 8th 2016
Edit Blog Post

i left Eugene, Oregon yesterday morning after celebrating the 4th of July attending my last day of the Olympic Trials and then going to one of the many wonderful brew pubs with my brother, sister-in-law and niece (who had arrived from Denver that afternoon in time to attend the Olympic trial events that afternoon). The last day in Eugene we had one final walk along the many trails and then a final lunch in a brew pub--s record number of beers on tap!

I arrived in Juneau yesterday afternoon....as expected the weather was cloudy with off and on sprinkles and one real rain shower. My friend, Mary Jean arrived a couple of hours after I did and we enjoyed walking around Juneau and then headed back to our hotel fairly early....we packed our backpacks prepared for the full range of weather since that's what is expected in Alaska. As the pictures will show, we have had an incredibly beautiful day....sunny skies, warm temperatures and cool breezes. I think the Oregon weather must have followed me!

We has a perfect day of hiking first at the Mendenhall Glacier and then taking the Mt. Roberts Gondola and doing a short hike
Oregon brew pubOregon brew pubOregon brew pub

So many beers on tap!
there. Our total mileage is close to 12 miles but our longest hike today was less than 5 miles. I'm already wishing we had more time to hie and explore Juneau. Tomorrow we have an all day boat excursion scheduled and then we leave the next day on the ferry to Sitka.

I doubt my pictures can begin to show how incredibly beautiful the scenery was today. It was also sobering to have a park ranger show slides of the glacier taken beginning when she was a child in the 50's compared to where the glacier is now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



8th July 2016

Alaska
Thank you so much for blogging and posting pictures. I have always wanted to go to Alaska. Keep posting!

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb