Going rogue in Alaska


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Juneau
June 30th 2010
Published: June 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello folks,
Acutally, I'm still sweltering in hot and steamy Memphis (today was a cooler 93 degrees!). But next week I will be in Juneau, Petersburg, and Sitka, Alaska. So this is a 'heads up' to all of you on my blog list. First, if you DO NOT want to receive blogs, them please e-mail me and I will take your name off the list. Second, if you DO want to get the blogs you have to be sure and add the following to your address book: webmaster@travelblog.org

Val and I are doing the Alaska Ferry system from Juneau down to Prince Rupert, British Columbia. From Prince Rupert we fly to Vancouver for 3 days. It should be fun to see where the Olympics were held last winter. Val leaves for New Orleans on the 20th while I head to Spokane, WA for a Delta Kappa Gamma Convention. I fly home on Jul 25th. I have never been to that part of the States so it is prety exciting. But the real enticement is the weather. After enduring 90- 100 degree temperature for the last two months, it will be divine to be a little chilly in temps hovering anywhere from 45 - 70. Brrr,I've got the long underwear packed.

We planned the trip ourselves, found all our hotels on the Internet and are basically winging the entire trip. I assure you there will be no Vegas style shows or midnight buffets on the ferry. Some of them leave ports at 4 AM and others arrive at 2:30 AM. For those of you who know I am NOT a morning person, well, it should be part of the adventure. Stay tuned...
Carolyn

Advertisement



Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0774s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb