Cruising Tracy Arm . . .


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Juneau » Tracy Arm
June 10th 2010
Published: September 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After eight and half months onboard - it is officially my final cruise!

Every cruise we have a scenic cruising day where we’re still on the ship but we sail into an Alaskan fjord and up to a glacier. Though our itinerary has said all along that we’d be sailing in Tracy Arm, each week we’ve been in Ellicott Arm. Ellicott is wider and there’s been less ice there so our captain has felt it’s been safer going there. Every week the scenic cruising has been beautiful, but all of the crew have been very curious to see the neighbouring fjord that has been alluding us.

Well this week, I lucked out because today we cruised Tracy Arm - just in time seeing as it’s my last scenic cruising day.

Wow. Again, Ellicott Arm is beautiful. But Tracy Arm just had me stunned. The fjord curves a lot and around every bend were huge mountains. Some of the mountains seemed almost green - not lush green like the ones in Hawaii . . . I don’t know how to explain it. In the distance, in the space between two mountains, I spotted a glacier. The waterway was so smooth, except for the icebergs that increased as we gradually approached the glacier. We spotted seals sunning on the ice. There were tons of waterfalls.

My first activities with the teens in the afternoon were scheduled outside on the deck. A couple teens played the games, but most of them just stood there with me in awe. You know the surroundings are awesome when the teens onboard stop to gape.

Eventually we got up to the glacier. It was awesome. No other words required.

Soon after that I was back in the club for the rest of the afternoon hosting activities with the teens. But we had the curtains for the club windows wide open and a bunch of the teens were content to just sit and admire the view.

I’m so glad I got to see both of the fjords during my time here in Alaska. My last cruise is off to an excellent start!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb