A Day In Hyder, Alaska


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Hyder
August 26th 2011
Published: August 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Friday August 26, 2011
A Day In Hyder

I woke up to rain; surprise, surprise. I slept and watch a movie until lunch. I had plans to go up the road today. There is a bear viewing area where you can watch bears catch salmon in a river. Apparently the only bear viewing site in Alaska that is accessible by road. Further up the road is Salmon Glacier the 5th largest glacier in the world. But I wanted the full day and no rain. I am also hoping for things to dry up a bit. Everything is pretty wet and muddy; not something I care to ride my bike through all day.

I had fish & chips at some restaurant that runs out of a bus for lunch. I took a bit of a walk around the area and went into most of the (few) shops in the area. This is a real cool run down town. For super I went to the Glacier Inn for fish and chips. In that place they have money (usually $1 or $2 bills) stapled all over the walls by travellers from all over. I will try to go in and get a few pictures. I read in a booklet that they have well over $80,000 stapled to the walls. Most of the money looked Canadian. I bet they were pissed when the loonie and toonie came out. Fish and chips is real expensive here; almost $20 a plate no matter where you go . And the fish caught right here.

Hyder accepts Canadian or American money at par, they don’t care which currency you
pay in. but they do not seem to big with debit cards.

I could live here for a summer no problem; what a cool town. I recommend it to anyone to come visit; you would not be disappointed.

Hyder is an old abandon mining town but has a ton of character and charm. The few roads are not paved but I did over hear that they are paving next year. What a shame.
I met a guy with a sail boat and talked to him about sailing me out of here. He said it would be a 2½ day trip and it would cost me $500. I wish I was made of money. I have never been on a sail boat before. Not that
A Bus RestaurantA Bus RestaurantA Bus Restaurant

Had fish and chips here
it is a big dream to sail but I think it would be cool trip to take.

I am camped at this camp called Camp Run-A-Muck; the Sealaska Inn runs it. I think they have 2 locations to camp at. I am camped in the area beside the inn because it is easier to access the facilities and the bar is where I can get internet. I think tonight is karaoke night because some old guy in a cowboy hat just sang some real bad country songs. Only in Alaska.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Glacier InnGlacier Inn
Glacier Inn

Had fish and chips here
The Walls of the Glacier InnThe Walls of the Glacier Inn
The Walls of the Glacier Inn

Mostly Canadian $1 and $2 dolar bills and a bit of American money and a bit of currency from around the world.


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0223s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb