ANCHORAGE


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Anchorage
November 13th 2005
Published: November 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

We made it to Anchorage last Tuesday, actually early Wednesday morning at about 1am on 10/9. We drove about 15 hours from Whitehorse -- we were finally ready to get off the road & make it into Anchorage.

I'm still settling in at my new place. Ken and I are painting the apartment, so I haven't even unloaded any of my stuff from my truck yet. The apartment is in downtown Anchorage, so there's a lot of stuff within walking distance. For the most part, I feel like I'm living in any city -- except that it's cold (mostly in the 20's the last couple of days) & there are views of the mountains around every corner.

I do miss everyone at home, so please keep in touch. You can send me a message through the travelblog, & I'll send you my personal email address. Hope everyone is doing well. Love, Diane

P.S. - I was going to add a picture of my new place, but the security on this computer at the ANC library won't let me access my pictures.

Advertisement



15th November 2005

Hungry?
Dear DC - Welcome to Alaska. As a 15 year resident myself, I wish you a pleasant stay. Do check out New Sagaya City market, good food. And Europa Bakery for bread. I lived in Fairbanks and always enjoyed coming to town for good treats. Most of all, enjoy the light. And lack of it. And if you get depressed, remember it might be SAD, lots of people get it. Enjoy the Greatland!
16th November 2005

Miss you
Diane, I really enjoyed your trip and pictures. I've put it on my agenda for retirement in 4 years! Will stop by if you're still in ANC. Hope you're all settled in now and getting acclimated to the low temperatures. Keep in touch and enjoy your adventure!
17th November 2005

You made it!
You knew that Alaska is cold sometimes, right? I mean...before you left? We'll miss you, Diane. Monte
23rd November 2005

I really enjoyed the travel blog Diane. In a way, I felt like I was traveling with you guys. Glad you and Ken made it there safely. Keep in touch.

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1007.6kb