Day 7


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Anchorage
November 4th 2007
Published: December 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Dog SleddingDog SleddingDog Sledding

I had fun traveling through the mountain tops on dog sled in Juneau.
The snow made it real hard to land as we descended to correct altitude before landing in Alaska. It took many trails before I could locate the runway and actually calculate the right speed and angle to land, but I did it without a hitch.
I was afraid to get out of the plane. On the dashboard, the temperature monitor read 30 degrees Celsius. I hate the cold because I am not use to it. Anything under 60 degrees Celsius is killer to me. Anyways, I rushed out of the plane and went to the closest clothes store, which was luckily just inside the airport. I bought heavily insulated pants, jacket, socks, boots, beanie, and gloves. I looked like a bloated penguin when I looked at myself in the mirror, but I was warm, which was a plus.
I always wanted to go crab fishing, so asked around and found someone who offered to take me. The water was rough and crazing cold. I only had one chance and I succeeded. I pulled the basket on the boat and opened it. I helped the crew unload the crab. It was cool, because afterwards, I ate the crab that I caught.
Next, I went on a dog sledding tour in Juneau. I had hard time controlling the dogs, but the sightseeing that we did was awesome. All I can see was frozen lakes, mountains covers with snow, and pine trees, nothing more. I was glad to escpae the turmoils and sights of the city for once.
The day became night and I was rushing to get back to the airport. I arrived only seconds after the last of my friends arrives. We all had a cool dinner together. Then we packed and headed out. Our next destination is China. I spent $750.00 that day.
As we flew out of Alaska, we could see the Northern Lights. Amazing sight it was.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.216s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb