Day 8


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan
November 5th 2007
Published: December 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Japanese Snow MonkeysJapanese Snow MonkeysJapanese Snow Monkeys

Here are the monkeys that I was talking about. They enjoy the hot springs as much as we do.
On the way to China we encounter trouble with the landing gears. The malfunction signal kept on flashing and beeping, and I had no way of turning it off. I was in a state of dilemma and had no option, but to land in Japan at the Narita International Airport. I informed my friends that we are having difficulties and that we were going to Japan earlier that expected.
I landed the plane without any trouble with the landing gears. When we landed, I called a good friend of mine, Hideo Kojima, who is a professional aeronautical mechanic. He came as quickly as possible with a group of his helpers. He told me that it will take till tomorrow to figure to the problem and that in the meantime, we should go out to enjoy ourselves.
I hired a personal taxi to take me everywhere I wanted. First, I traveled to the Akita Prefecture and went to an "ONSEN", in other words, hot springs. The water is heated by volcanic activity deep down in the Earth. During this time of the season, the hot springs in Akita are snowing. Monkeys live there as well so when they feel cold, they can go inside a hot spring and relax. I saw that happening before my eyes. A monkey came into my hot spring and began swimming with no care in the world for humans. I spent a good two hours in the hot spring. Next I visited the memorials at Hiroshima and Nagasaki that was dedicated the ones who perished in the nuclear bomb. I almost stared to cry when all images flew inside my mind. Lastly, I ended the day eating noodles from a close noodle stand. I was very hungry, well, I do not know. My friends and I met in Tokyo and for the whole night, spent the night looking around, just going into anonymous places, and talking abut the old times. I spent $1500.00 that day.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.212s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb