The people here


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alabama » Troy
August 19th 2011
Published: August 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I know all of you are waiting for a report on the Alabama-people, but that's not what I want to talk about today. I want to talk about Asian people. Why on earth asian people? Well, because there are a lot of them. Not just in the world, but, you know, here. I would guess about 80% of the international students are Asian. Now, I don't know if most of you know this, but I never "got" asian people. Don't ask me why, I don't know. I didn't have anything against them, but for some reason I could never imagine liking them either. I would have never voluntarily travelled to China, Japan, South-Korea either. Like I said, I don't know. The people and/or culture just didn't interest me. (I love chinese food though, but that's different. Food doesn't count.)

This thought didn't exactly go away on my first Alabama-Asian-Encounter. It happened on the very first second I entered Pace Hall. There were 5 girls inside the hall, they saw us & started waving hello, yelling in their squeeky voices "ooohhh, hii! hii! hii!". Not to even mention the giggling they did when Matt walked in 10 seconds later. Neither did it help that I noticed they couldn't get their picture taken without forming the peace sign, or that they held hands everywhere.

Now, I am not racist, never was, never will be. I simply wasn't raised that way (whipe that smug grin of your face dad). But these people seemed to different I thought I could never really "like" them.

That was until I started sharing a bathroom & kitchen with two South-Korean girls.

Never in my life have I met girls who are so nice. Not only to each other, but to me as well. On the second day, I asked Minhee if I could shower first the next morning, let's say, around 8? Since we had to meet at 10, I thought I was giving her enough time to shower after me. No, the poor girl got up at 7.30, so I could have the entire bathroom for myself. When they cook, they would almost forcefeed me to eat along. They let me use their stuff. They introduce me to their friends (which are A LOT of Korean people, I tell you that). They don't mind that I bust in at 2 am - off course they don't, THEY ARE STILL COOKING. Alwaaays cooking. And it smells good too.

So hereby, you get to have something you won't see a lot.. I was wrong. I was wrong to assume they were so "different", and to immediately think that that "different" would be in a bad way. I hereby open my head to Asian people. You should try it sometime.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1085s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb