First Flight


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico
November 12th 2016
Published: November 12th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I am from the Philippines and a seafarer by profession. I joined my first vessel last year and as part of my job, I used to travel from one place to another. That is why I started to make a blog to have track on the places I have been and share to others, who are interested, my experiences to a particular place. Most of the time we are in the middle of the sea which is the nature of our job. But when time comes that we are going to berth for a cargo operations, this the time that I make most out of my free time to go travel and explore.

And this is my first entry : Tampico, Mexico.This place have the same weather as my country. People are very approachable although only a few of them speaks English language but that was not my problem since one of my companion can understand few Spanish words. Roaming around the vicinity of the hotel we are in to was very fun. There are street singers and shoe cleaners are on every corners. in front of our hotel is a building painted in pink that seem house a lot of birds which are very domesticated and give additional attraction to some tourists. Adjacent to the pink building is the Cathedral which is very old as how it manifest outside but very well-preserve inside. This is an indication that the dominant religion in the place is Roman Catholic. The entire place is well-preserve from the time it was being founded, I should have to say, since there are some buildings that stood still and show some old fashioned architectural designs which also attract some tourists.

For the foods, it was all mouth watery! We used to have our dine at a local restaurant near to our hotel since the hotel only provide breakfast. It was awesome! The dishes they offer are all pure mexican style. It was my first time to eat Mexican foods and it was like having it all and taste all the dishes they offer. They serve fresh food! But make sure that when it's time for you to eat provide some extra time or come to the restaurant early because you would wait an approximate 20-30 minutes for your orders. But nevertheless, it's all worth the wait!

One thing I admired most about this place is the issue of security. For two days and three nights that we stayed in the hotel, I have observed that Military personnel are in constant roving around maybe because to maintain peace and order in the place. During night time, still the Military personnel are having their round check and no more civilian is on the street beyond 10 PM. This is a good indication that foreign people or even the locals would love to stay in this place because one's security is properly observed since tourists' first concern is safety and security!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb