Day 38, 39 and 40 - Cancun


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico
July 1st 2007
Published: July 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

OK, I've combined a few days here, as they were a fairly quiet few days...

Sunday 1 July 2007 - Cancun and Playa del Carmen

Today we took a local bus about 60kms to the local tourist spot of Playa del Carmen, which turned out to be a gorgeous spot. Right on the Caribbean (baby!) with the most gorgeous blue waters I've seen in a long time, plus a white sandy beach. Just heavenly. Except for the heat and humidity, of course!!! It really was unbearably hot, with even Toni saying that it was hot and thats really saying something.

Despite the heat, we had a good few hours of shopping, with lunch thrown in. I think I bought the most I've bought so far. A new skirt, new swimmers (bathers, togs, etc!), a singlet top and shot glasses to add to my ever expanding collection!!
We finished the day at a local restaurant called Gory Taco, which despite its name, was really nice and had great food. It was also our last meal with the tour.

Monday 2 July 2007 - Cancun

Today Toni and I totally vegged and pampered ourselves. We slept in, layzed by the pool and Toni had a massage and I had a pedicure. I also managed to get just slightly burnt while sunbathing, which for those who know me, won't be at all surprising! Still, it should fade to a nice brown and at least even out the tan lines I've got from t-shirts!

Tuesday 3 July 2007 - Travel day, Cancun to Orlando, USA

Today was a pretty ordinary travel day, I have to say. We were basically on the go from 8am until 11pm when we finally arrived at our Disneyland hotel, the All Star Movie hotel. First was a plane from Cancun to Miami, with customs, immigration and collection and re-checking of bags. From there a flight to Orlando and once we arrived and waited an hour for our bags, it was a 30 minute bus ride to our hotel.
I have to say, I think airport procedures on the West coast are much better than those on the East Coast. We didn't take nearly as long getting through LA as we did Miami. Still, we finally arrived and were reasonably impressed with our Disney hotel.
Not nearly as nice as the one in Hong Kong, but hey, it still had themed buildings, with 2 dedicated to 101 Dalmations (so cute!) and two to the Mighty Ducks and lots of other cute things.

Off to Magic Kingdom and if we've enough time, MGM tomorrow! Can't wait!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0649s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb