Checking out the sights of Merida!!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Merida
May 5th 2009
Published: May 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

4th MAY 2009 - RELAXING IN MERIDA
The overnight bus was ok. The guy that I was originally sat next to smelt of stale booze and dirt. I was so pleased I had a mask on!! When the bus stopped after a couple of hour to pick some more people up, I managed to swap seats. Not as much room but odour free and I curled up in my seat and managed to get some shut eye. I only woke up once during the rest of the journey though it wasn’t a pleasant wake up to find 2 police men pointing a red laser at my cheek. Shocked me a little to say the least and I had no idea what they were doing. They soon left me alone though and moved down the bus and I managed to fall back to sleep. Out of the 9 hour journey, I think I got around 7 hours sleep which is the most I had slept in days!! Pleased!

Once in Merida we got a taxi to the hostel (Namadas). It was a really nice place and I immediately felt relaxed. We were put into an all girl dorm and despite there being loads of beds there was only us and another 2 girls in there. This pig flu has really had an effect on tourism…everywhere seems to be so quiet!! Hammocks were dotted around the hostel, there was a nice seating area and a lush pool. It was definitely a good place to pass the time until the government decided to re-open things again. On arrival we tucked into some free breakfast (toast and jam) and then I chilled out in a hammock with my book for a while whilst Nat used the net. Think I may have to purchase a hammock to take home with me….soooo comfy!!

After freshening up we had a wander into town. It was a nice little place and had the usual square and some impressive buildings. We did a shoe hunt for Nat and she managed to find some flip-flops at last. I didn’t see any that took my fancy and hoped that my taped up ones would hold out for my final 3 weeks!! Like the other towns, a lot of places were closed due to the pig flu but we did manage to have a look at an outside art exhibition. Some really cool statues and sculptures. Never felt heat like I had over the last 2 days…I felt like I was melting even in the shade! Following the Art Exhibition, we checked out the fruit and veg market. It was a total mish mash of a market and fruit stalls were next to book stalls in a random fashion. We still managed to navigate our way to the freshest looking fruit an stock up for a couple of days. Very cheap too and I bought a pineapple, a melon, apples, bananas and some strawberries as a treat! Making sure I kept up the 5 a day!!

By the time we got back to the hostel it was around 3pm. We bikinied up and went to lay by the pool for a couple of hours. There were hammocks suspended over the pool and I made full use of them. Good way to chill and pass the time.

At 5.30 we headed to the room, dressed and sorted ourselves out before heading out to tea. I had a burrito and it was delicious but filling. Still surprised at the lack of spice in Mexican food. Very tame indeed!! Always bring out some complimentary nachos and dips too though and the dips are usually hot…as in blow your head off and make your lips tingle for hours!! Once eaten we went to the net for a couple of hours. I played the safety card and backed up my photos on CD. So impressed with myself as all the instructions and prompts were in Spanish. I hadn’t a clue what they said but it worked out!! Off the net we headed back to the hostel, had a spot of fruit and yoghurt and wrote in our journals. I was almost up to date and very excited about that!! As the night set in we headed to bed and I crossed my fingers that the mosquitoes would not be hungry that evening. Lately they have been devouring my legs and I don’t think I could take any more itching!! I covered myself in a pungent smelling repellant and closed my eyes!! Sleep time.


5th MAY 2009 - RELAXING ON PROGRESSO BEACH!
My sleep is getting back on form…had a whole 8 hours!! Wow! I woke up at around 7.30am. Nat was still fast on and so I spent some time writing my journal and a couple of postcards before getting washed and dressed. So fed up of wearing the same bobbley clothes day in and day out…looking forward to being reunited with my wardrobe so that I can stop looking like I belong at a homeless walk in centre!! Nat was still asleep and so I left her to snooze whilst I went for breakfast. Some nice homemade toast and some fresh melon. Good start to the day! Nat was only just stirring when I got back to the room and so I went on the net for a but until she was ready.

We had hoped to visit the cenotes (underground caves) today but they were closed as it was a Mexican bank holiday. At least it wasn’t down to pig flu for once! We asked at reception what was open and ended up with 2 choices. A national park costing a lot or a beach costing a bus fare. Not surprisingly we went for the latter and set out to catch the bus to the beach. Only a 25 minute ride and was quite a nice beach. Loads of mushroom type shelters up on the beach and all the locals stayed firmly under them in the shade. Not us though…true to being English we applied the sun tan cream and basked in the mid day sun! It was very hot but quite breezy so we didn’t feel it too much. The wind got stronger though and after awhile I was well and truly sand whipped down my right side. We both rinsed off in the sea before we left the beach but I needn’t have bothered. For some reason I seemed to have more on me after I had rinsed off. Nat was sand free...even on her feet! I would have looked at home in the film ‘Mummy’ I had that much on me! Just gets everywhere no matter what I do! I was like that as a kid aswell; I suppose some things never change!!

Off the beach we strolled along the front. Loads of nice restaurants but neither of us were hungry and just bought a can of pop instead. No one understands us when we ask for a can of pop! Not even a lot of English people. What else can you call it?!! A can of drink just doesn't sound right and soda is not good either!! A can of pop...the only way to go!! Pop in hand, we caught the bus back to Merida and the hostel where we dried off and I managed to get most of the sand off me. I say most because even after a shower I managed to still have some in my hair and on my neck! I am sure it must ooze out of my skin...I really cannot get rid of it!!

Our next venture was back into town to get something to eat for tea. We managed to find one nice looking place. A couple were in there too and the guy really fancied himself as a singer. He kept shimmying and clicking as he sang along to the Mexican music that was playing in the background. I had to work really hard to suppress my giggles as it was pure comedy to watch. It wasn’t just that he was singing badly and dancing even worse (I can relate to that), it was the fact that he thought he was good. The woman opposite him looked like she was working hard not to laugh as well. I hoped they weren’t on a first date because if they were I doubted they would make number 2. Made our meal entertaining anyhow!! I wasn’t too chuffed when we got the bill. Tax added on for the first time since we have been in Mexico. We should have had a deduction for having to put up with Enrique on the table next to us, let along money added on!! Oh well!

Back at the hostel we headed straight for the internet...more blogging and dedication to the cause of trying to put a smile on peoples faces!! Blogging done, we headed back to the hostel where we sat outside for a couple of hours enjoying some fresh fruit and a good natter!! At around 11.30 we went to bed as we hoped to have a busy day tomorrow as things should have been re-opened by the government after all the pig flu closure nonsense!! Fingers crossed as we have lots to see and limited time!!








Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.247s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 35; qc: 126; dbt: 0.194s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb