I love Bard


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Merida
January 25th 2008
Published: January 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Do you guys know that? Wanna know WHY I love Bard?
Because even though I´m in Mexico, I still have access to JSTOR and all the other wonderful things the Bard library offers. Why is that wonderful, you may ask? Because I don´t have to deal with the world´s most confusing library and I can do all my research online. Even in Spanish, because JSTOR has everything. Hallelujah! So I´m supposed to be doing researcht this weekend about the Tzotzil Maya of Chiapas, and (did I tell this story yet? Sorry if it´s a repeat.) I went to the library. First of all, they still use card catalogues, but whatever, I can deal. Secondly, they have this big, beautiful, gigantic library (see photo on my second entry), but only the first floor has books, there is a giant lobby in the middle and all of the shelves are half-full at the most. So there´s not much selection. I picked out my two books yesterday I wanted to use for my research and went to check them out. They´re like 200 pages long, it was 5, and the library closes at 7. (Yes, that is 7. On Saturdays it closes at noon and it isn´t open at all on Sundays). I go to check them out and they´re due Friday. Yes, you only get to check out books from the library for two days. Who does that? How is that useful? That is the oddest thing ever. And since I have class at 8 am on Friday, and the library opens at 8 am and the books were due at ten, I had to turn them in today. Guess how much of them I got read, since I had to write a 2 page paper last night too. Three pages. Point is, this place makes no sense, and I´m hereby referring all my research to JSTOR and the like.
On the bright side, my boyfriend is coming. Also I´m going to a party tomorrow.
And Saturday I´m going to Chichén Itzá. I hope you all realize this is a fulfillment of my dreams since I´ve wanted to go since I was like 6.
Furthermore, I had my first scuba class today. It was awesome. We talked about how air contracts under high pressure and how you have to be careful so your lungs don´t explode. How awesome is it that I´m going to have my international scuba license by March and get to scuba dive in caves? I think that you all should be mad jealous, because if I weren´t me I would be. There are only 4 of us in the class (20 in the program) and I cannot figure out why the oher 16 aren´t doing it. It´s crazy cheaper than in the states. Well, one girl is afraid of water, but the others... Odd.
That´s all I have to say. Research time. Yeah! JSTOR!!!

Advertisement



25th January 2008

Grrr. I want to learn to scuba dive. I am in fact mad jealous. Yay for Chichen Itza! Do you even read these?
25th January 2008

Glad your spirits are back up. It is so good you always find the bright side. Today I finally read the coments section. I am saddened I have no one to read it in your voice--yours or the annonmous one.
25th January 2008

Life dream since 6
I beg to differ. At 6 you wanted to go to Australia for koalas or South pole for penguins. Since 8, you wanted Chichen Itza (sorry don't know how to put the accent over letters.)! Well this weekend will give you 2 out of 3. Love
25th January 2008

Miss You
I miss you lots. I hope you make friends. I am watching to see how the local people accept americans. If you want to come home you can catch the next plane. I know you are learning more than just the language. Live your dream of seeing all the sites. Then come home, and know you lived one of your dreams. Love You oodles and gobs.
25th January 2008

I do as a matter of fact read them. Though I only noticed they existed about three days ago. But now I´m reading them. Yay!
26th January 2008

i can tell you why they're not doing it: there is the possibility of lung explosion, or getting stuck in a cave, silly. that said, best of luck and maybe i'm just being bitter because the closest i get to scuba diving at bard is putting my feet in the blithewood fountain. :-)

Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0768s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb