No puedo bailar!- I can´t dance!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Merida
September 19th 2007
Published: September 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Merida on the 16th of Sept, and although I only planned on staying a night or 2 I´ve actually ended up staying for 5 nights as the hostel is really nice and I´ve met some really nice people. The dorm I´m staying in is really spacious with hammocks that you can lounge around in and nice communal areas. There is free breakfast, but I wasn´t particularly impressed with the dodgy coffee and toast with jam. I have no idea how they manage it, but every single piece of bread in the loaf is a crust. Hmmmm.... what can you expect for less than 4 pounds a night I suppose!

They also give free salsa lessons every night which is really good fun, but I quickly realised that I was the special needs student of the class! It didn´t help that when the instructor was counting the beats she would say 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7. I thought at first that 6 must be a really quick step that I was somehow missing out, but then when I realised that there were only 6 beats I turned into a complete schoolgirl and nearly wet myself each time
Church floorChurch floorChurch floor

Most of the church is paved with grave stones where people paid lots of money to be buried in there.
she said it! I know we probably should have told her that the number 6 existed, but it got to the point where it would have been embarrassing as we´d all been counting with her without the 6! Anyway, even with the dodgy counting it was confirmed that I have absolutely no natural rhythm.

I was marginally better during the lessons on the 2nd night, and we had some boys to dance with which was more fun! However, when I went to a Salsa club last night everything I learnt went out the window and I was completely rubbish and uncoordinated again. Oh well, it was fun anyway!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

My dormMy dorm
My dorm

I have a nice double bed on the bottom bunk in ´la casa de chicas´(the girls´house)
Salsa with Sophie, Katharina & JaneSalsa with Sophie, Katharina & Jane
Salsa with Sophie, Katharina & Jane

It took me half an hour to master a simple forward and backward step!
More salsa attemptsMore salsa attempts
More salsa attempts

I realised later that one of the reasons I was so bad was that the instructor was making me be the boy and everything was back to front!
Mambo Cafe Salsa ClubMambo Cafe Salsa Club
Mambo Cafe Salsa Club

There was a cuban salsa band there who were gorgeous!
Cheese!Cheese!
Cheese!

Jane from Ireland, Katharina from Germany, Cami from South Korea and me!


21st September 2007

Salsa dancin'...
Hey when you come back me, you and Hel Fal can all go salsa dancin' at Cococabana in Manchester! If you can dance the male and female bit then you'll be in demand coz I have to be led and Hels used to leading! Lovin' your work as always lady xxx

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb