Mexicans are strong!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo
July 3rd 2009
Published: July 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I made it back home in the truck safe and sound. Managing to only stall it and get stuck or paused on top of a massive speed bump.
I live with Francisca and Vinancio. They are about 40s years old. Francisca is an amazing cook who loves chiles. Shes hard headed and argues with me about recycling and veggie prices. I learned last night that she was married at the age of 13 to a guy who was 38. She was always a rebel as a child and ended up moving far away from her home state to live with Antonio. She then continued to tell me that she had her first kid at 14 and her second at 15. AYYYY!!! I cant even imagen! She was very proud of all this and she seemed to always have her life in control thoughout. Her husband made her get a babysitter and go back to school. She was then able to put all 6 of her children through school! At one point she had all of them at once in school at one level or another! It amazes me how she got through all that and still is getting through it, I think she still has 2 kids still going to school!
Vinancio her current husband(Antonio died) is a short little mexican(which I think is why all the beds are so short even for me) who loves to fish and fishes every day and is quiet and sweet. We went out yesterday and he taught me how to through the fishing net and look for licetas. In the end he caught 6 licetas that we had for dinner golden fried. He goes out almost everyday to fish and he never comes back without anything. Yesterday we were only out for about an hour. Sometimes he doesnt come back for 2-4 hours and I look for him with my binoculars and hes waaaayyyy down the beach.
Manuel is my next door neighbor. He is a husky beer drinking joke telling fisherman. And when I say next door I mean like 1/4K walk down the beach. He borrowed our boat the other day and switched the motors to a stronger one for the fishing tournament. When we went back to switch them off again oh boy! It took 3 guys to lift the big one of the boat and then manuel just came along picked up our big but smaller motor with one fell swoop and plopped it on. Maybe its the fact that he eats turtles and their eggs that makes him so strong? He has lived in the reserve his whole life and doesnt want anybody to tell him what he can or cant eat. He owes us beer money so Ive decided that if he wont pay he can just give us a kilo of lobster tails. Lobster season started yesterday officially(before that, some of the females are still pregnant so they dont hunt them then) and Punta Allen has a lobster cooperative that organizes how many lobsters are caught, the prices, and the land(sea floor is divided up between fisherman). They use concrete lobster habitats that the lobsters think are nice safe homes until somebody duck dives down with a spear stick and gets them out.
I dont know how Im feeling about all this seafood Ive been eating. I love seafood but learning about all the fish that are being sucked out of our oceans definetly doesnt leave me with a guilt free conscience after I eat. however i do like being able to say that I caught the fish or my friend caught it and I saw how it died and where it lived and all that. i would still never buy or eat meat that came from a store. it is kind of nice to be able to have a hunter/fisherman in the family providing the food. im the gatherer who drives to get the veggies and francisca is the preparer who makes it all delicious!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb