Day 28 - Tulum / Playa Del Carmen


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Tulum
July 26th 2013
Published: January 31st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Today was my last full day before leaving to go back home. It was weird that a month had flown by, yet it felt like I had been away for longer. I think the reason I had felt like I had been away for so long was because everyday had been so action packed.

Although it would have been really nice to have chilled on a beach in Playa, I really wanted to see Tulum, despite being bored of seeing Mayan ruins. The reason I was so interested to see the Mayan ruins at Tulum was because of the beautiful surroundings as its located next to the Caribbean sea with pure white sandy beaches

Anyway a small group of us decided to get a taxi/minibus service from Playa to Tulum. I can't quite remember how much it was each way, but it was fairly cheap. If you're a tourist then you had to pay an extra 10 pesos (about 50p).

Once we had arrived in Tulum, we had to queue up for quite a while to get in and the weather was must have been the hottest day of my adventure, so it was quite draining standing in a queue. My advice would be to get there early! Once we got past the entrance, we walked around the ruins. I must admit it was very impressive. After walking around the ruins, we then got the chance to go for a swim in the sea and this was so refreshing as it was such a hot day. The sea water is crystal blue and the beach is sandy white, such an amazing place!

After seeing the ruins and drying off from the swim in the sea, we then took a 15 minute walk to a lovely nearby beach which was away from the crowds of people visiting the Mayan ruins. This was my last chance of getting to sunbath as the summers are hit & miss back in England, I decided to make the most of the gorgeous weather.

In the evening it was our last night all together so we went out for a meal to a very Mexican restaurant and then went to a bar for some drinks. I must have stayed out until midnight, but then decided to go to bed as I had to get up at 6.30am as my flight was one of the early ones and I had to get transportation back to Cancun. It was very sad for the journey to come to an end, and I was so not ready to go back home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb