Day 26 - Caye Caulker


Advertisement
Published: January 12th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


SnorkellingSnorkellingSnorkelling

Snorkelling
Today was my last full day on this beautiful island after spending two nights here. Yesterday, I spent most of my time at the hotel because I felt unwell and I missed out on snorkelling with everyone in the group so I decided that today I would go snorkelling as it was my last chance. Despite still not feeling 100%, there was no way I was going to miss out on snorkelling in the world's 2nd best coral reef barrier as this was one of the highlights of the 3 week trip that I had been looking forward to.

I booked the snorkelling excursion through Ragamuffin. You can find them on the main road of Caye Caulker, heading towards the split of the Island. I definitely recommend Ragamuffin, as you get the snorkelling equipment, boat trip, food and punch cocktails all included, and of course plenty of Bob Marley music being played on the boat.

I had to be on the boat early to make the most out of the day. I was put on a boat with another travelling group and didn't feel out of place because I had done all the areas that they were moving onto
Caye CaulkerCaye CaulkerCaye Caulker

Caye Caulker
next and they had been to the places I was going to next so we had lots in common to talk about.

The weather was so hot and while the boat was heading out to the coral reef barrier, there was plenty of time to chill out, catch some sunrays, listen to Bob Marley and Caribbean type music. I must admit, I really did feel the Caribbean vibe and had that feel good factor. We had several stop offs so we could snorkel with the final location being where I got to swim with nurse sharks, stingrays, sea turtles, eels and other unusual/beautiful fish. This really is an awesome experience!

Once I got back to Caye Caulker, it was evening time, so after getting washed/ready I met up with some of the group and we found this really good pizza place called Pizza Caulker. You can find Pizza Caulker down one of the side roads of the main street. I didn't stay out late because I was still feeling ill and wanted some rest before the bus journey back to Mexico the next day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



12th January 2014

Diving Belize
We'd love to go diving in Belize. Nice underwater photos.
13th January 2014

Belize
Thank you. I hope you get to visit Belize soon!

Tot: 0.314s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 32; qc: 136; dbt: 0.1722s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb