More beaches..... more drizzle....


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Tulum
September 27th 2007
Published: October 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Made my way back to the place I stayed at a few days ago called Tulum, but this time instead of staying in the town I stayed a bit closer to the beach (still a 20 minute walk though!)

The main attraction in Tulum are the ruins which overlook the sea. It is really nice and dramatic looking, but it´s the location which makes people come (the ruins aren´t really up to much!)

I spent 2 days on the beach, but unfortunately there was a lot of cloud most of the time, and patches of annoying drizzle where it wasn´t wet enough to leave, but it was wet enough to be annoying.

Everyone I´d met had said how fab the beach was and although it was nice, I was a little disappointed. However, when the sun did pop his head out from behind the clouds the place was transformed- the sand was whiter and the water seemed more clear and turquoise!

I would have liked to have spent a bit more time there with the sun, but it´s time to move on. Goodbye Mexico, hello Belize. I´m only a week and a half behind my original schedule which I don´t think is too bad.

Interesting things I´ve learnt about Mexico-
*There is no @ button on the keyboard, you have to hold down the Alt key and then press 64
*You aren´t allowed to put toilet roll in the toilet (ick) but they often have flushes which you press with your foot, which I think is a very good idea!
*Body spray doesn´t seem to exist here, only spray deodrant or perfume.
*Vodka with coke is a mixture is regarded as a very strange drink. Apparently you´re supposed to drink it with soda!?! (Surprisingly German people that I met found Vodka & coke strange too, but they put coke in their beer so they can´t really talk!!!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb