A New 'Senses' Adventure...


Advertisement
Published: July 10th 2016
Edit Blog Post

"Fantasy and reality often overlap". ~ Walt Disney

Hola family & friends. Have you been wondering if I got hit on the head with a coconut on my birthday, & therefore unable to write a blog for a week? Well close.

After I posted my blog on my birthday (July 4th) things went downhill. I was like a lyric out of a Frank Sinatra song. Riding high in April and shot down in May... Or shot down in July. It wasn't food poisoning just a little bug which caused some chills and a slight fever and was TOTALLY annoying. I so rarely get a flu and then in July in Mexic? HELLOOO? After a few days of this nonsense, I was saying 'uncle' let me tell you.

The following day (July 5th) was Al & my 19th anniversary (also known as the day Al's luck turned around - haha!! OK just kidding, of course (well sorta maybe)! Anyhow, that celebration was also shelved. :{

So for those of you that were missing my blog, I'm back. And for those of you NOT missing my blog, I'm back (heh heh heh)

Otherwise, I'm on the road to recovery, and I can say we've had another great week together with the creme-de-la-creme of amazing weather and great times with Al's parents. Girls have enjoyed so much fun time in the pool & playing cards & board games with grandma. Ava (11) has a career in Vegas is all I can say about playing cards...

We've specifically been enjoying an up-close view of the sea birds that glide past our balcony. We'll be just sitting beach watching & 2 or 3 large pelicans float by. However (dot dot dot), there is this huge bird that glides by and you can't help but take a second look and go 'WHO IS THAT"? It's probably like the first time Richard Burton laid eyes on Elizabeth Taylor...It's like a movie star just entered the room but that movie star is a bird & that bird is called a frigate and they are captivating to watch.

They soar by effortlessly, usually alone and hang in the air like they are suspended on a wire. Black with sharp angled wings that can span 6 to 7 feet wide and they have these webbed long scissor-like feet. But it seems the major ace up their sleeve is that they fly into clouds (think of that when you're sitting on a plane and hit turbulence). Can you imagine how much nerves of steel it must take to fly into cumulus cotton-candy clouds? They do this in order to catch the updraft, and then reap the benefit of being in a holding pattern of sorts expanding little or no energy while doing so. Apparently they can soar for up to two months without stopping and are capable of sleeping while soaring. Talk about sleeping while on the job... (See Al's pics below.)

They are unique since they can't land on the water to feed like other birds because their feathers are not water friendly. While they may not be aquatic birds, they apparently sure know how to harass other birds into giving up their fish via regurgitation. Call it a bully, or call it survival of the fittest in the bird world.

We've made sure to have our cameras handy in case we can grab a photo. When Al spots something, he dashes off upstairs to the roof to capture them. So far we think we've just spotted the females which tend to be larger, and have a white patch across the breast/belly.

It's like we have the Discovery Channel on right outside our balcony.

ADVENTURES ARE MADE FOR THIS...

When an ad for an eco-nature park geared towards your 'senses' starts out, "Has it ever happened to you that you travel to a new place and nothing is what you expected? You imagined something completely different. This is a place that will blow your mind. Welcome to an incomparable park, a place as fun as it is magical, as amazing as it is enigmatic and as absurd as it is rational. Picture a place with real and imaginary scenarios that will surround your senses and take you to a fantastic world where your perception will be challenged."

Well I've got to say we experienced a new adventure yesterday and although it feels somewhat intact, my mind was blown. This gist of this park called Xenses (Senses) is designed to play with your mind, change your perceptions and tap into all of your senses and then some. It's part of the same group that created Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor in the Riviera Maya. These guys have once again built a nature park but not only using nature, they took it to a different level to engage all of one's senses which is truly a new experience for us.

Totally different from your typical theme parks of man-made rides, gaudy carnival games, over-priced junk food and loud music. The idea of visiting one of those theme parks makes me develop a rash. Big noisy crowds, long line-ups, pushy rude people etc. Ack I just am not made for that kind of stuff. But this park was different. Just trying to research it was an interesting adventure since they want it all to be a first time experience where you have no idea what to expect, so pictures and videos are extremely limited. I'm sure everyone will be posting on Trip Advisor so this is my version of events.

Maybe I did get hit on the head with a coconut because after spending 3 days recuperating I decided it was a good idea to go somewhere where all of my senses would be tapped into, including participating in water slides & zip lining. And by the time it was over, my poor senses were doing the hokey pokey & all turned around. Clearly though, my common sense was working just fine because it was a great decision to go! Simply put, overall it was a gem of a day.

So what is all this blarney I'm going on about you ask?

SPOILER ALERT. If you plan on going here please do not read the following so you can experience it first-hand. If you want to go, and are like me and want to know what to expect with family/kids, then read on...

This park which opened a month ago is called Xenses, & from the moment we entered the very cool Disney-like building, we were entranced. We get our wristbands, and walk into the main area, and the huge ceiling is changing colors, with music much akin to Disney World. To get to the lockers, you enter hallways of mirrors and cross a mini-bridge with a kaleidoscope of colors swirling around making you feel you are on a moving ship. Even the huge bathrooms are funky with carnival mirrors to distort your image. The drinking fountain in the bathroom is a toilet with a sign that says, "A Sip Of Conflict. The water in this toilet is perfectly clean, and the toilet has never been used, so why do you hesitate before taking a drink?'' (Keep in mind the spout is on the toilet seat!) That was quite funny and original - my sense of humor! See my photos to believe it 😊

And so our journey began with going through a tunnel of sorts to exit into a colonial western town where you are all off balance and kilter and the whole town is slanted causing us to stumble around in a dizzying mess. And when is the last time you saw water run uphill? You can enter some of the houses in this town and they are much like the crazy kitchen back at the Science & Technology Museum at home.

And the signs on the houses, bars and saloons were THE best. For example...

*Beware of the owner. He is meaner than the dog.

*I take portraits, I don't work miracles.

*Husband Day Care Center. Need time to relax? Need time to go shopping? Need time to yourself? Leave your husband with us. We'll take care of him for you. You just pay for his drinks.

*I believe big families, I think every woman should have at least 3 4 husbands.

*If you bring your dog, tie it outside. If not, then don't tie it.

*After 2 tequilas we speak English.

*Drunks don't enter. They just exit.

From there we went to the 'toboggan' water-slide which means flying down a water-slide & landing in an underground lagoon lit up in blue neon. I really have decided that water slides are not my cup of tequila, but while this was pretty cool, it was a shot of adrenaline that I did not need. I flew so fast down that thing I felt like my bathing suit was left at the top. The kids are always like, "Mom did you like it?" and on the outside I'm all smiley face but in my head I'm thinking, "Why did you just do that???") The things you'll do for your kids...sigh...

From there you go to the bird flight zip-line where you're harnessed to fly like a bird but not at a great height which is good for kids. Ava was too small to go, so I sat this one out . (I looked up at the heavens & whispered, "Dear God thank you for Ava being the reason I could not go zip lining"...)

Keep in mind these activities are all somewhat built in a huge labyrinth of large connecting caverns, beautifully lit & designed. The next was float the lazy sea-salt river which keeps you buoyant so you just lie back and float along in peace. I'm thinking how long can I float here till they kick me out? What mom in her right mind would willingly get out of this thing with the sounds of spa music filling the air. This is the life for me. Once you get to the end, you have these big buckets of water overhead to pull down to rinse you off. All so cleverly designed & inviting. I think I stood under those buckets for 5 minutes.

Just when I think that's the 'cat's meow' up next is a soft clay river which feels like you are in immersed in a melted chocolate river. I swear to god as I lay there floating I heard angels singing to me. Then there were little bubbly jets that massaged my back as I floated along. Yeah I know what you're thinking... How fast can I hop a plane and get there?! I was trying not to giggle too loud like I'd been hitting the hard stuff but man it was SO delightful. I looked over at Ava next to me and she was grinning from head to clay toe. We were all covered from head to toe in this silky soft mud when we got out, and then enjoyed a warm water bucket rinse. I can only say this is as close to going to Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory that I'll ever experience in a natural state. Ahem.

Next you walk through a series of well-lit funky caverns of neon colors which is called 'rain' which has soft water jets misting you & a spritzing of a series of waterfalls you walk through. I loved it... Could this get any better? Do they hand you a smoothie & give you a back massage when you walk out?

Finally we are back outside in the bright sun & heat for the final tour which is in a sense a-torium. You enter a completely pitch dark building which replicates a dark
cavern, and are completely instructed that this is all about your senses. You will feel, hear and touch things as you walk through. Ava & I went together since she's small (frankly she's braver than me and I could use her as my guide!) Let's just say without giving too much away, we were immersed in seasons and different lands as we moved. Animal sounds, rain forests, deserts, bridges, mountains etc. They are geniuses I say!

After what seemed like an eternity, we saw the light at the end of the tunnel. No really, we did, they had little torches lit as we emerged from our adventure. Once we emerged from there the cavern opened up to lagoons, beautiful colored water, live flamingos, and parrots, waterfalls, well AMAZING. After we got back through gardens, we saw a sign that said, "When life gives you lemons, make lemonade". Then they had designed a wall with plastic cups to take and pour yourself a glass of lemonade from the tap above. What a slick production.

It's only been a few days since getting my sea legs back from my quarantine, and at one point I didn't know if I should wind my butt or scratch my watch with all this excitement. Yet I felt strangely invigorated and raring for more action like a kid on the first day of summer vacation. The illusions and optical effects were dramatic and jaw dropping. This always lights Al's face up when I'm more into something than he thought I'd be. I just know what I like and don't like & I know my limits, and I try to be open-minded when I decide to participate, and when I end up getting all into it then I think he gets a big hoo-ha out of it. (And actually so do I too when I'm pleasantly surprised.)

And Now A Note from Our Paid Sponsor (Which is me! 😉

On a side note, Al is the big kid up for an adventure most of the time. And I've got to study it, find out what it's all about, what risks are there, how much is it, is it worth the hassle, how long are the wait times, need to read the reviews, what does it entail, will the kids be safe, will I be safe 😉 etc. Then...yes, then, if it suits and I like the idea, go in for the kill. But I'll always have a plan B if the first plan goes to hell in a hand basket. In all cases, Plan A is preferable.

It's just the realist in me. I am always just on high alert, keeping the vigil, making sure we are all safe and accounted for, and planning for the best outcome. It's like being very in tune with some magnetic field around me. Realists just see things the way they are and not what others want them to see or a distorted version of it. But that does not put them (ahem, OK me...) in the pessimistic category. In fact, I think it lands us right in the middle of optimists and pessimists frankly. Yet I like to be around all of those groups because they balance me out.

Al is a realist too in many ways, but he likes to say that I think more quickly on my feet and he just needs a little longer to catch up. I think it's best summed up by just being practical and grounded in reality. I think it's great to be an optimist but if
it's a case of being 40 years old still sleeping on your parents couch because you think you are going to be the 'next John Lennon or Freddy Mercury' then it's time to get your act together & become a realist. (I am giving lessons right now - my going rate today is 50%!o(MISSING)ff...)

It ain't easy being easy and it's even harder being a realist. I'd like to think when the going gets tough, many people count on the realist to come through. Ahem, not necessarily saying 'moi' as Miss Piggy would say, but I like to think when called upon to sort out any snafus that I could be counted on to do so. (Miss Piggy...the ultimate realist and a cool feminist voice going back to the 70s!) When asked if she considered herself 'plus size' she replied, "If you mean I have an 'extra fabulous, gorgeous, give-me-some-of-that' figure, then yes. If you mean fat, then no."

I'll tell you one thing, realists will never be scammed out of their money. I'm the one chasing those door-to-door scammers off with a broom, and telling them if they dare step in our neighborhood again they'll get whats-for. Mom just said the other day 'Revenue Canada' called and left her a threatening message to call them. Of course mom knew it was a scam.

It's even worse being a realist born under a cancer zodiac sign. Talk about a contradiction. Part of us has that hard tough shell exterior with the dominant strong personality traits, high energy, organized, practical, efficient etc. However, on the inside of the shell there is a very soft, maternal, yet protective, highly-sensitive, emotional, empathetic & loyal thing going on. Crabs can dig in and hang on with all their might when required, but once hurt, are extremely wounded. Sniff sniff for us poor realist crabs (more's the pity on our mates!) But once we are back to the ocean in our safe place, we re-group. I've licked a few wounds by the Caribbean Sea (grief etc.) and it is definitely my healing place when the journey has been rough...

And speaking of our 19 years together, it's good Al & I understand each other in ways no one else could have a glimpse into. Life is much easier when you can understand and forgive each other in a relationship. I can tell most of the time how Al feels about things, about when he's feeling uncomfortable, stressed, relaxed and even if he's had more than one drink 😊 😊 He's always a pleasant drinker! Uno mas por favor (one more please!) He can usually read me by one thing. My eyebrow goes up... An old favorite quote: "Don't get my personality and attitude twisted. My personality is me. My attitude depends on you."

Personalities can be compared to trees especially in regards to the storms we face in life. I used to think I'd like to be a grand old oak tree, strong, proud, and stalwart. But despite its size, an oak tree's branches can easily snap off in a wind, and in high winds the whole tree can be completely uprooted despite its iconic strength. Now the willow tree, well it doesn't look nearly as regal as the oak or as strong as the oak, but it can be more flexible and bend with the wind, whether caught in a raging storm or dancing in a soft breeze. I think palm trees are much the same; built in hurricane areas and able to withstand almost anything Momma Nature throws at them. I think the lesson in life here is whether you are a realist, optimistic, pessimist, or 'whatever-ist' is to learn to be like those willow & palm trees to bend with whatever forces come at you so you can weather any storm. I'm still learning about this...especially with kids.

Regardless if I am a realist or not, or whether I think the glass if half full or half empty, all I can say is, there's always room for more wine. 😊 ? HEH HEH. Cheers to George Carlin, Louis K and my late brother Bill who all had (have) that realist humorous side.

BACK TO NON-REALITY (And that park)

Just all in all an incredible day for our senses at this park. We had such laughs seeing ourselves react to these 'senses' testing forces in such a beautiful natural setting. There are so many unique things about the Riviera Maya but just being part of nature here is the bomb. Seeing the big 'ceiba' trees (the sacred Mayan tree which can grow to over 100 feet), tropical lush forests, gorgeous flowers & plants, spectacular birds, colorful butterflies, parrots, lagoons & ponds, sacred turtles, oceans, cliffs, cenotes, all just makes you feel SO alive. Putting aside the deluxe condo, the food, music, drinks, which are all fantastic here, the biggest draw to me is being one with nature here. Especially waking to miles and miles of ocean views that never seem to end... It's just all so darn invigorating.

Wishing you all a great summer adventure in whatever you are all up to (I heard there's been heavy rain at home on the weekend. Still time to come visit us here in this sunny oasis!) Hope to hear from you! PS lots of photos of our adventures...we may've been selfish and have taken up 2 whole pages!

Sal and the Sensei Masters :] Please note the following.

*Grammar & punctuation in this blog is left as an exercise to you as the reader.

**All opinions are my own & may not be suitable for adults 😉

***Read at your own risk.


Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 36


Advertisement



10th July 2016

I'm a Plan A, B, C, D...person.
My wife has great difficulty going beyond Plan A. What does that make me?
10th July 2016

I'm a Plan A, B, C
Bob that makes you someone I REALLLLLY like & admire! From all your writing, it sounds like you're quite adventurous and none of your plans from A to Z curtail any of it :) Always glad to hear from a comrade in arms! :)
10th July 2016

Wow! That place sounds interesting! I would love to visit it with my family! Hope you are feeling better!
10th July 2016

Senses
Hey Linda, it was really cool...you could do Xcare & Xsense in the same day with the family. As long as you bring me along too :) Wish you were here with us Lin, April was so much fun!

Tot: 0.497s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 111; dbt: 0.2279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb