Friends & Fun By The Sea!


Advertisement
Published: July 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

See you later alligator, after a while crocodile,

Bye-bye butterfly, be sweet parakeet.

See you soon raccoon, blow a kiss goldfish,

Take care polar bear, so long king kong.

Toodle-loo,

kangaroo.

Ahhh good-byes are hard. Al, Lara, Ray & Pat left on Thursday to go home. As mentioned, Marth, myself, Rory & Ava are staying on till July 25th, with my girlfriends coming to join us.

With Ray and Pat out west in Alberta, it's always hard to say good-bye. It's hard for the girls too, not to see their grandparents, then get 2 solid weeks with them and then have to say goodbye again for at least 6 months to a year. And it was hard to say goodbye to my marido (husband) and Lara, but as I said, let the good times roll with some wonderful gal pals who are coming to join us at the condo on Friday. HOLA Maureen, Sue, Linda & Jadie (Linda's daughter). We've talked about them coming to Playa for years, and it FINALLY worked out. YAHOOOO.

LUNA/Thurs

After the gang left for the airport, we moved from the villa to the condo, got unpacked and stocked up the fridge. My stupid cold has dissipated, and the sneezing is finally down to a 5 on the richter magnitude scale. (yes it was that loud).

Another warm welcome from the great staff at Luna; it's nice to be welcomed back like old friends. They hauled all our luggage and brought it up to our 3rd floor condo. The maid was just leaving, and the condo was fresh and spotless. Ahhh oh those ocean views; how I never tire of them. It's not too busy here which is nice to float in the pool and lie on the ocean front loungers.

We headed down the beach to a favorite restaurant for lunch and our waiter from January was our server, and right away he asked me, "how is your father doing?" It was at this restaurant I found out dad had had a heart attack in Jan. I was so taken aback on his memory. I am so happy to report to him that my dad is doing great. You have to admit, when someone remembers you and your family situation from 6 months ago...well it is a true honor.

Friday/Viernes

YAY, the girls arrived by 2PM. I was SO anxious waiting for them; they don't like to fly, and they've never been to Playa before so I wanted to make sure things went smoothly and it did. Jaime had the sign with their names and he was right on time, got their luggage in the a/c cooled van and they were here lickety split. I will admit, I was so nervous waiting for them, more nervous than a pig in a bacon factory 😊

Finally when they arrived we all ran down the stairs to greet their smiling faces. Their flights uneventful and Sue survived (she hates flying). They have left their kids & spouses behind for a week by the sea. Before long we were sipping margaritas enjoying cheese & deli meats and it seems they reallllly like the condo. It was a day of lounging, swimming in the ocean, swimming in the pool and relaxing. We took a stroll around parts of Playa, and then all met up for dinner at Los Rancheros. The staff greeted us by name, and we had 5 servers at one point!!! They made guacamole at our table (Sue claimed it was THE best she ever had), and enjoyed a big sharing platter of BBQ beef & chicken kebobs, ribs, quesadillas, fahita chicken and beef, rice, tacos, guacamole, and on and on. Dessert was flambeed caramel crepes with Kaluha. OH boy, talk about a fun evening, up on the restaurant rooftop with ocean views and amazing live music.

Bet you all wish you were here (that's for our hubbies back home; Al, Cory & Henry!) Yes we miss you guys, but you miss us more right?

We came back walking along the ocean, shoes in our hands, and enjoyed a nightcap on the balcony with a soft warm breeze cooling our faces. After, we took a midnight swim, and hung over the pool looking at the lights of Cozumel island all lit up. It was sheer heaven. Life is just about near grand. Being surrounded by my gal friends, warms the cockles of my heart. We have so many laughs together, and the 5 of us get along like gangbusters. They are a witty, intelligent, fun, kind, easy going group of gals. Lucky me.

Happy Saturday all!

PS Rory has the flu/headache. I was up all night with her; and she's been vomiting non stop. It's near noon and I've gotten some medication for her, and she's improving. Me? Well I'm tired & looking like something the cat would NOT dare drag in, but I was able to take a walk and have a quick breakfast while Rory slept and auntie Martha watched her. Life cannot be too perfect you know - if it was how in the heck would we appreciate the good times if it was always sunny on the ocean? 😊 Let's pray she continues on the upswing. Poor little gal.

When destiny forgets to tie some people in blood relations, it corrects its mistake by making them true friends" ~

To my friends Sue, Maureen, Linda and Martha, here's to many days of good times for us here on the sunny shores of the Caribbean.

Sal


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



19th July 2014
Nightcap

Let the good times roll!
Well, I am pretty jealous -- I can only imagine the fun times you're having with the girls! Having been to Luna, I can imagine their delight at seeing the marvellous condo, spectacular views and friendly staff. No other trip will ever compare once you've been there and especially with "Playagal" who knows the area inside out. Have ANOTHER marg for me and I'll raise a glass to y'all from here! p.s. I have told a colleague about Luna -- he's very interested in renting for a week in February for his family. The question is, when will I be able to get back there again...hopefully soon!!!! Abrazos y besos, mi muy guapa hermosa!!!
19th July 2014
Nightcap

Let the good times roll!
Yes Cin, we have to figure out a trip all together :) There's no end of fun, and I know how much you loved Luna. It just gets better & better. Yes, I think we can handle having a marg for you!!! Love ya xoxoxoxo

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb