Snorkeling, Sea Turtles & Squid


Advertisement
Published: July 10th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Advice from a sea turtle

Swim with the current.

Stay calm under pressure.

Be well traveled.

Age gracefully.

Think long term.

Spend time at the beach.



Buenos Dias to all you crazy fools reading these blogs! Hope it's warm & sunny where you are. OK for those of you that have been reading my blogs, see if you can fill in the blank. It is so H_T here. I bet you can't do it???!!! (insert big smiley face).

Things I love...

2. No socks worn here - just flip flops.

When the "low" for the day is going to 28, you know it's going to be a hot day. Yes you got it, it's HOT! Why do I find myself so humorous?

Yesterday we all got to do different things. Al took some of the kids with Martha to Akumal to snorkel with the sea turtles. They have changed the way things are run there to protect the reef. No snorkeling just anywhere; now you pay a higher fee, but you have a guided tour. They did swim with some beautiful turtles, and some different parts of the reef that was amazing. They had a lovely picnic on the beach, and enjoyed swimming and snorkeling and relaxing. They spent so much time making sure their faces, arms and chest were sunblocked & protected with sun shirts, but both Ava & Lara got burns on their legs. Rarely have the kids gotten a sunburn. Momma does not like that...

They saw large sea turtles, stingrays, squid, and very colorful tropical fish that ran the color spectrum. They saw fan, tube and brain coral which was outstanding. Coral from the reef is the MOST amazing thing.

I had some work to do, so Rory and I hung out. Finally around 11 am we took a tour into Playa, did a little window shopping and ended up at Pelicanos on the beach for a smoothie. Ahhhh, nice mom/daughter time to sit and chat, then I did a bit more work on my laptop and Rory wrote a novel 😊

We wanted to get some items at Walmart, so up we went on 6th and found a new bakery. So we ordered some cinnamon rolls to go. Little did we know they were making them fresh. HOLY COW it was steaming hot as we waited and I kept saying to Rory, "soon we'll be home in the pool"...please god get me home to the pool. I think I slid off my chair 3 times waiting for those croissants.

Walmart was a welcome reprieve from the heat, and half an hour later, we were in a cab on our way home. We ditched the food, quickly showered and jumped into the pool. WOWSIE, it felt soooooooooo good.

Each night we think is the night the girls will make us our promised chicken (pollo in Spanish) stir fry, but it hasn't happened yet as they were so tired from snorkeling etc. So luckily I had picked up a BBQ chicken, so we had rice, salad with goat's cheese, green beans with butter & Parmesan cheese and a freshly baked baguette for dinner.

Ray regaled us with stories of his father coming over from the Ukraine when he was 16 years old, with a little borrowed money and no idea how to speak English. So he managed to get a job on the railroad & ended up in Hemaruka Saskatchewan. Hemaruka was named after the founder's 4 daughters. Helen, May, Ruth & Kate. Our three girls once created their own restaurant called "Avrola" Ava, Rory & Lara (isn't that darling!)

After a game of cards we ended up in the pool flinging a ball around. It was great fun; no animals (or people) were hurt in the process. Although a few heads got banged.

Thursday/Jueves

It will be an early morning as Al is off to dive today. I will get up early to see him off, then I have work to do for Playa Beach Getways. I will work, then dip in the pool and enjoy the quiet till the house comes alive...

I tell you, if life was any better I'd be twins (insert clown face)

Signing off for now, in the land of milk & honey, tequila and chocolate, avocados & limes (and some realllllllly good margaritas)

PS Keith, congrats on winning blogger of the week for June 29th. Apparently the moderators realize we are friends and I am in the running for "blogger of the week" this week. It's rather humbling to think anyone would be that interested in my little blog when there are 1000's out there and ones that stand out like Keith's. Go figure but still an honor. I do love to share this place with others, and I do think I've got more posts for Playa del Carmen than anyone...HOLA Playa 😊

Oh and pics...further down. Click on them to make them bigger then hit next. I told you once, now I'll tell you again 😊

Good on your Keith you old blogger you!!!!

Sal


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb