Happy Anniversary to US!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Playa del Carmen
January 9th 2013
Published: January 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

"A good marriage would be between a blind wife and a deaf husband". ~ Montaigne

Happy anniversary honey! How does a couple celebrate almost 11 years of togetherness and three children? Well they head to Playa del Carmen and get married. And that's what we did 5 years ago today, Jan. 10, 2008. (Thank you Cindy for getting the ball rolling on that one!)

It's so nice to be back here to celebrate our anniversary. It's also nice to be here with Ray & Pat who were at our wedding and having Blaine here because he couldn't make it but wanted to be there with us & of course the girls who have fond memories of that day, even wee Ava (mind like a steel trap).

So here we are, together 16 years and married a big 5 years and we're still truckin' along! We seem to still kinda, well maybe, a little bit, sorta like each other! (Al just looked up at me from reading the blog; he had a perplexed look on his face). OK Al we realllllly like each other 😊

Before I get into that, we had a great day yesterday.

After breakfast, Blaine, Greg & I walked down the beach and window shopped, saw the ferry, got some fresh fruit from the fruit ladies at the ferry, took in all the sights and finally stopped to have a nice cold drink oceanfront. OMG we stopped at Senor Frogs and got a picture of Greg and Blaine in the "thong" chairs. Take a look at that!!! Those guys have got some major derrieres going on!!

We laughed and joked and carried on & it was just a day of smiles...We spent an hour having a drink oceanfront at Le Terraya, a little spot on the beach that is cheap, cheap cheap. Blaine struck up a conversation with a couple next to us that led to some laughs.

We came back to join the gang on the beach, sitting on loungers and being lulled by the ocean. We brought down a cooler with cold drinks, a few cerveza, and I had a glass of wine. It's amazing how you can all be together lined up side by side on your loungers, spend time chatting but also can sit there in total silence watching the world go by and be mesmerized by the sounds and sights only the ocean can offer up.

We ordered chicken fajitas from the restaurant next door and boy were they good. Top notch, #1, two thumbs up, the cat's meow, and well, you get the drift. Homemade guacamole, homemade nacho chips & tortillas, sauces, and sizzling chicken, onions and peppers delivered right to our loungers. I've said this before and I'll say it again, there is NOTHING that beats the fajitas from here. They are OK at home, but they just don't sizzle the chicken, or carmalize the onion and peppers like they do here that just resonates on your taste buds and makes them do the cha-cha-cha!

Afterwards we hit the infinity pool where we had loads of fun, hanging off the edge of the infinity pool watching the world go by & swimming and playing with Rory and Ava; our water babies. How do they manage to stay in that pool for hours and still come out without those prune fingers that we adults end up with?

Blaine keeps shaking his head going, "this is unbelievable; I have no words that I can describe how I feel about being here". And it's true, there's no words that can properly desribe it, and perhaps the beauty of it here is that you can't quite put it into words & you just have to see it yourself. Despite how I do try and describe it in my own little way via my blogs, the fact is, I cannot do it the proper justice at all.

After some playtime with the girls in the pool, I came up to shower and got to sit out on the balcony for a bit by my little own self, taking in the peace and quiet. I know time doesn't stand still, but time seems to take its sweet time passing each hour. It really is the slow life here and we feel like we've hit the "pause" button here.

Later we headed our for a bite at Le Terraya (again) and had grilled Yucatan chicken with rice etc, for about $4 CDN. The girls had homemade chicken fingers which set us back around $2 CDN. It's not fancy but you are oceanside, with a view of the ocean, the warm wind in the air, and good food & drink to round it out. Local musicians roam the beach here offering to play songs for you. So we chose two guys, one guitarist and one guy on bongos and it's typical of them to play La Bamba which I am sick of hearing, so we asked for something original. And boy did they do a good job on the song which was "Del Larosa". It was quite amazing.

So we videotaped it, and Greg is in front of the guys, so Blaine is signalling for him to crouch down so he can tape the guy, and what ensued after that was SO funny that had me in stitches. I was crying so hard tears were coming down my face. I am sure the musicians thought I was "loco" (crazy) and either I was crying because the song was so moving, or again I was "loco"! OMG I laughed so hard that this morning my stomach hurts! If we can upload the clip of Greg I could almost charge you to watch it because it's Grade A comedy....! Greg has that way of making you laugh in his very quiet witty way.

Afterwards we headed up the beach to a beach club called Wah Wah's that features live bands. We thought the house band (Nasty Bastards) was playing tonight but not so; they had a really good singer/acoustic guitarist from Britain that really was fabulous. He did a mean version of "Dirty Old Town, and if you can pull that off, in my eyes you've done a good job. The Dubliners did a fantastic version but the Pogues made this song much more mainstream. So while we had a listen to the music, the kids along with Blaine had a great time playing horseshoes in the pit in the restaurant. Yep the place is that big with sand throughout it.

I've attached pics of our 1st official day here so so come on, go take a look now. Now, go further down and see all the pics and then well, I will be sending out a second blog today because it's our anniversary & I've got some thoughts on that whether you are ready for it or not!!

Having the time of our lives here; and glad the clock is having a siesta!!!

PS Happy birthday Aunt Muriel! All the best today and every day!!!

Sal 😉


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



10th January 2013

Happy Anniversary!
Congratulations Sally and Al on your Anniversary! Time flies when you're having fun. I read your blog every day. Keep the pictures coming. Love them.
10th January 2013

Happy anniversary!
Hey Lin! Having a great time of it! Will keep sending the pics for sure!!
10th January 2013
Stop at Church

I love this little church. When I stopped there was a mass in progress. Very pretty.
10th January 2013
Stop at Church

Happy anniversary!
Yes it is such a quaint pretty church by the ocean!
10th January 2013

Happy Anniversary to you Sally and Al; you\'re a wonderful couple and fun to be around. Enjoy your trip.
10th January 2013

Happy anniversary!
Manon, thank you!! Wish you were here darlin' to kick it up a notch higher!! xoxoxo
11th January 2013

OMG your getting me with all the food... I love food and all blogs have some kind of yummy food that gets my tummy going!!! hey, think you can bring home some leftovers? HAHA!
11th January 2013

Happy anniversary!
Aw Leah, well I would/can bring food home but alas, you're on your own after that! No guarantee about the freshness!!!
11th January 2013
The lads

People do the strangest things while on vacation...
(first of all I apologize if you get this comment twice, I was done and went to submit and it disappeared...gotta love technology) Anyway, I always find it funny to see the strange things people do on vacation...for instance, look at Blaine drinking his red fruity drink through the straw through his nose...what a crazy guy he is! Sally, I'm afraid you may have made a mistake inviting those 2 amigos on your family vacation...they will be like a couple of stray cats, once you feed them they won't go away! They look like they are having the time of their lives...you all do. Keep having fun, you still have a few more good days ahead of ya!!!
11th January 2013
The lads

Happy anniversary!
Yes Shannon you are right on all points. He laughed to kill himself over that straw up his nose that I did not see in the pics! Ahh. those Forans

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 6; qc: 27; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb