Cancun


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Cancun
April 12th 2015
Published: April 12th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Olah,

So, first step in elective- Cancun, probably the most unMexican City in Mexico, but nonetheless a great stopover in my adventure.

So I arrived into Cancun on the Monday and got a shuttle bus to the bus station where my hostel was close by to. I was lucky to have met someone in the airport who was going to the same hostel so it worked out ideally. Stayed in this hostel called Hostel Ka'beh in downtown Canoun, which was a really great hostel- perfect for meeting people and really traveller friendly. The flight was long 11hours, GMT-6 so I hit the Hay a bit after tea.

Cancun is separated into 2 areas- the tourist bit and the downtown area. The tourist bit is along the beach front and is made of resort after resort and really Americanised with Starbucks and McDonald's and expensive clubs and bars. Downtown is kind of the city centre- near to the bus station and is about a third of the price and has a few hostels and cheaper bars with lots of yummy street food?

the first day I headed to Chichen Itza (or the Magical Pyramid) which is a large Mayan ruins around 4 hours on a public bus from Cancun, the ruins were absolutely fascinating and gave me a real insight into the Mayan population. The ruins were abandoned in the 12th century but have been renovated. In the middle was the Great Pyramid which was basically built around "time" and had a really clever concept. The worst thing about the day was the overriding crowds of people (which was to be expected!)

I arrived back to the hostel and went out to a few bars with the rest of the people which was really fun. It was good to see the proper downtown Cancun other than the touristy part. and the bars were cheap and people we're friendly. The following day, I had the great idea to hire a bicycle and go beach hopping down the playas, and Blvd Kuklividian (which is the stretch full of resorts and beaches).

In the evening. I went out to this ridiculous club called Coco Loco on the touristy part with the hostel, which was expensive but so worth it. It was a Broadway show as well as a club with all inclusive drinks, some of the most amazing entertainment I have every seen, so I am glad I went.

So the only other thing I could really to find to do in Cancun was Isla Muheres, which is a small island off the coast of Cancun, again quite touristy but a lovely day out. We walked down the Island to a Turtle sanctuary and fed some turtles as well as seeing some nurse sharks, we then went back to the north of the Island and went and sat under a palm tree. It's been a hard few days (I joke).

So I have just arrived in Dangriga, after an overnight bus to Belize City and another bus down to Dangriga.. Let the adventures begin.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb