Cancun!!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Cancun
January 18th 2012
Published: January 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Day 1



Feeling the wheels of the plane land against the tarmac knowing that we have safely arrived after just over 18 hours of travelling from cold old south London to the humid heat of Cancun, Mexico we step off the plane where I finally get a chance to stretch my legs after being stuck by the window so I could give Rach the chance to rest against me while she sleeps. Going down the escalator I'm greeted by a 10 foot plastic spiderman which is promoting Coco Bongos a night club Rach has non stop been going on about. Approaching passport patrol I could see the woman had a stern look on her face so I decided to use my charm; I put on my awarding smile and approached her passports in hand. "Hola," I said, as she looked up smiling back stamping us through I felt good even if only for a moment I was able to put a smile on her face. Making our way to collect our luggage I stand there watching all the luggage pass me by. I saw Rachel's bag fast approaching so nudging pass everyone I grab her bag turning round to pass it to her while she stood back looking pretty. Waiting now for my bag, all of a sudden the luggage belt stopped with my bag nowhere to be seen. WHAT THE FUCK I said as I turned to Rachel her looking back with a hint of amusement on her face. With anger in my eyes as well as sleep I marched to the Air France (before I continue Air France is one of the worst airlines I've flown with- avoid at all cost!!) customer service help desk demanding to know where my luggage was and who's ass I'm gonna whoop! After filling out some forms and finding out my luggage will be with on Friday (bearing in mind today is Wednesday) we made our way through customs and to our taxi to our first stop Mayan hostel.

Upon arrival we was greeted by Mike one of the staff at the hostel after getting a quick tour of the place we was shown our room. It had no windows, minimal light and from our toilet window you could see into the kitchen, but hey for now it was home. Sitting on the end of the bed all I could say to Rachel was at least you have clean underwear with her laughing back as I frowned at the concept of being a bum for the next few days. After unpacking we called it a night and caught some well deversed Zs.



Day 2



Are waking up and freshening up we set out for some breakfast. Well we didn't have to go very far as upon opening the door right across the road was a tradition Mexican diner complete with little cockroaches who help you finish your meal if you're struggling. Sitting there feeling the heat from the sun blast against our bodies we decided to play it safe, so I ordered a ham, cheese and mushroom omelette, with Rachie getting scrambled eggs, both came with refried beans nachos and freshly squeeze orange juice. Sitting there in silence as we tucked in, sparring no time for small talk we made quick work of our food. Feeling energised we decided to take a stroll of our area to get a feel of Mexico, soon after leaving we saw some amazing views of the city, the warmth of the community and the way how everyone is willing to help everyone brought back memories of how London is so different; in London looking at someone in the wrong way can get you in so much grief where getting a helping hand is as rare as winning on a scratch card!!! Exactly who ever wins on those! Making our way back to the hostel after a couple of hours we thought it would be nice to go upstairs to the roof top terence to chill on the sunbed and mingle with fellow backpackers. Soon after we were joined by a group of other travellers: 2 couples, 1 of which was a Aussie couple Kris and Anna, and 2 mates Tomias and Toba from Sweden (these 2 are funny as hell). We spend a few hours exchanging life stories, some good, some bad, and hear about various spots to visit and activities to do. We decide to visit Isla De Mujeres the next day, where they have stunning beaches and scenery. So later that night we all chilled, got extremely drunk with the rest of the travellers in the hostel, and passed out on our beds ready for the adventure tomorrow.



Day 3



Yes before I start day 3 my bag still ain't came yet, I managed to pick up a vest and luckily I packed some shorts in hand luggage and washed my underwear so no cheesy bottom! Lol. We all sat for breakfast and made our way to go catch the ferry across to Mujeres. Upon arrival the first thing I notice was they had mopeds and golf buggies for rental. Now the thing with me is I see myself as a dare devil so giving me anything I can push to the absolute limit is like giving a toddler a can of Coke. Theres just some things you should do, so we make our way to the shop. Glancing at Rachel's face I could see what she wanted to get..... The not so fast but reliable golf buggy so taking into consideration her expression..... I went ahead and got my beautiful 125cc bright yellow moped with number printed on the front. At that very moment you couldn't wipe the glee off my face even if you tried. After paying for the bike and speeding out the shop feeling Rachel's grasp getting harder and harder around my waist, her teeth sinking ever so deep into my shoulder. As I rip the throttle I look back to see Kris and Anna on their bikes and Toba and Tomias on their buggy. Driving around we came across one of the main beaches so parking up we set and relax in the hot sun, surrounded by beautiful white sand and pristine crystal blue waters. After a while we decided to make use of our bikes and buggy and go on a ride of the island to see more stunning views and beaches. So after a few hours of cruising around, a couple of near final destination moments, and me racing the locals with Rachel on the back, we come across a stunning private beach with wildlife and the clearest waters I've ever seen. Taking a moment to grasp in awe of what we are seeing we head back into town for some well deversed food (plus my ass was starting to hurt from jumping bumps like a mad man with a screaming Rach in my ears lol). We return the bikes and buggy and find a great taco place which done 2 tacos with nachos and a bottle of beer for £3 (I know amazing). Sitting down our waitress gave each a free shot of tequila, me being cheeky and offering a hug for a extra shot which she obliged to 😊 we tucked in recapping our near death experiences from earlier that day and posing for a group picture. Getting ready to leave the restaurant Fatina (our waitress) remembered my earlier promise of a hug for a shot so of course me being a man of my word had to stick to it, but cheekily while posing for the pic she took it upon herself to get a quick grope of my chest which Rachel couldn't stop laughing at. Going back to the ferry we all agree it was one of our best days ever and I know I made friends forever with it.



Day 4



On our last day in Cancun me and Rach took a local bus ride down to one if the beaches called Playa Delfines. The bus ride is something out of the movie Speed, I mean flying down the road at speeds of 70mph plus dodging cars, holding on for dear life to me this is a dream come true if I got to drive the bus I would have been in perfect heaven. Stepping off the bus and playing chicken with on coming traffic to get to the other side of the road we were greeted by miles of white sand and crystal blue water, hotels shaped like nothing you've ever seen before, people jet ski ing, para gliding and volley ball games, it was like just a huge adult play ground. We had marina control cruising the beaches on quad bikes packing uzis, handguns and M16, doing their utter most best to look like badies out of an action movie. After stripping down to my shorts and Rach to her bikini we lay down feeling each ray of the sun blast our body, cooking us that little bit more each time. Listening to our music I got up to start to do some training, after all I am a personal trainer and this is what I love to do, I done some sprint training followed by burpees, push ups and some boxing with Rachel before we jumped into the ocean for the perfect cool down 😊. Around 5 hours had passed we were starting to feel the hunger set in we decided to treat our selfs to Bubba Gumps!!! Let's just say we entered hungry and we left just able to walk! I had 6 differnet kinds of shrimp (coconut being my favourite), chips and a unlimited refill Pepsi, with Rach having coconut shrimp and chips, it was a fitting end to a wonderful day and a goodbye meal to Cancun. Upon arriving back to the hostel for our last night I was given the greatest gift i could ever imagine..... my luggage!! I tell you 4 days without your luggage is hell but at last we was reunited once again, I cradle my bag like a new born baby and kiss her, at last my own clothes and CLEAN underwear lol. Now our trip really begins and our next stop is Playa Del Carmen.



Oh yeah 2 fingers to you Air france!!!!!!! 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb