Still in Cancun


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Cancun
May 25th 2006
Published: May 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Isla MujeresIsla MujeresIsla Mujeres

The dock at Isla Mujeres
I spent the day at Chichen Itza yesterday. It was amazing. The extent and quality of the ruins was great. Especially impressive to me was the enormous pyramid/temple at the entrance to the sight and the ball court, which before I'd only read about in books.

I visited the ruins with my new American friends. I ended up spending only the day at Chichen Itza and took the bus with them back to Cancun to have a night on the town in the hotel zone. The hotel zone nightlife is overpriced, touristy, obnoxious, and American. All transactions are conducted in US dollars. We spent most of our time at a club that had a $40 US entrance fee, but had an open bar. It was a relatively nice club, but everyone was really young and the music wasn't very good. My friend Aaron and I left that place and ended up hanging out with some British guy that took us to a much nicer place with much better music, the problem being that it was basically deserted. It was 5 in the morning though.

Despite my negative comments, it was a fun night, mainly because of good company. I
Isla Mujeres (small=Isla Mujeres (small=Isla Mujeres (small=

The dock at Isla Mujeres (small)
allowed myself to sleep until noon today because before that I'd had only 6 hours of sleep in the previous two days. I managed to find a card reader for my camera memory card, so now I am fully photo-ready.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

GringosGringos
Gringos

Me, Aaron, and Nic on the ferry from Isla Mujures
Domino'sDomino's
Domino's

Even in Mexico
Flash GordonFlash Gordon
Flash Gordon

Apparently they love Flash Gordon in Mexico just as much as we love him in America.
Temple 1Temple 1
Temple 1

The main temple at Chichen Itza.
Temple 2Temple 2
Temple 2

Another view.
Temple MeTemple Me
Temple Me

Yes, folks, that's right. I really did go to Central America.
LizardLizard
Lizard

One of the local fauna.
Ball court 1Ball court 1
Ball court 1

The building adjacent to the ball court.
Ball court 2Ball court 2
Ball court 2

Maybe these pictures...
Ball court 3Ball court 3
Ball court 3

...will give you some idea of the scale.
Ball court 4Ball court 4
Ball court 4

The hoop at the ball court. Supposedly they bounced the ball into this thing using their hip, but I don't know if I believe it.
Well of Sacrifice 1Well of Sacrifice 1
Well of Sacrifice 1

Me contemplating self-sacrifice at the ancient Mayan Well of Sacrifice.
Well of Sacrifice 2Well of Sacrifice 2
Well of Sacrifice 2

It's pretty big.
Hotel 1Hotel 1
Hotel 1

4-star accomodations.
Hotel 2Hotel 2
Hotel 2

My own private bathroom. Take note of the lack of toilet seat and the one faucet in the shower for cold water only.


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb