And so it begins


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Bacalar
May 12th 2015
Published: May 13th 2015
Edit Blog Post

"Not all those who wander are lost"

After around 15 days Kate has just waved us a final goodbye at Tulum bus station, she flys home to London tomorrow & we're on our way south, first stop Bacalar. Although we've been away for over two weeks it somehow feels like this is where it begins. Our second class non AC bus is way more what I'm used to, I can't help thinking about Tessa's story, the fear on the bus drivers face. A lot of travellers are discussing the tension in Mexico at the moment. It's crazy but I feel safe, the gangs don't want to damage tourism so it sort of makes us safe. I sometimes can't believe how lucky I am to have been born in England, I mean we have opportunity, education, jobs and of course we are sheltered from the disasters of tectonic plates, news bulletins of Nepal's tragedy are heart wrenching.
Since my last blog about Cancun we have had quite an adventure, we moved into PocNa Hostel on Isla Mujeres, a small island 20mintues off the coast of Cancun, I honestly thought it would be less developed, their were a lot of America tourist but my goodness that tequise sea and stunning sunsets. Each morning (that I wasn't hungover) I strolled onto the beach and did yoga then we hung on the beach, went snorkelling to the underwater museum, rented a golf cart (that I didn't crash!) and explored the island with a few friends we meet that day, a real laid back week, a lovely way to begin a journey. We left Isla Mujeres on Friday 8th and took colectiveos (local mini buses) to Tulum a coastal ruin town about 2hrs South, the hostels are in town so the breeze is non existent !! We explored fantastic local Cenotes (Natural Rock Water Caves) and yesterday we hired bikes and cycled 8km to the local ruins which were stunning, we even had a sneaky dip on the way home. Lovely Tulum, see you again sometime.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb