The place of the turtles --super!!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Akumal
December 17th 2019
Published: December 17th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Playa del Carmen to Akumal


green sea turtlegreen sea turtlegreen sea turtle

Akumal bay is a feeding place with lots of sea grass on sea floor
6 years ago, I went to Mexico to swim with the whale sharks and its was a fantastic experience, (see one of my previous blogs)!

For the research of this trip, I learned that Akumal was a good place to see wild green sea turtles ..... and it is right!

The animals are so gracious when they swim under the sea and reptiles are my favorites of all animals!!

In Akumal, there are rules and you need a guide if you want to go to the most prolific spots. I read some comments online of people complaining about this.

Sad truth is that people were out of control and harassed the turtles in the past, so local town took action to set some rules to make the process sustainable in the long run.

That's is totally fine with me. :-)

I was hoping to see at least, one turtle, but didn't put my hopes too high, just in case....

During the 45 minutes snorkel trip, I saw 4, plus barracuda, and tons of other fish!! It's really a fine experience f you love those animals!!

The beach itself, also, if okay. You need to pay some fee to enter to the beach so it's not overcrowded.

Next stop: a young cenote!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement






Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 27; qc: 100; dbt: 0.111s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb