dead things and churches


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Puebla
June 20th 2006
Published: June 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So the fam and I went out on Sunday. First we went to this cell phone fair thing where the people were losing they minds over cell phones. From what I can gather cell phones are fairly new to Mexico and they are very expensive to use. So I guess I can understand the excitement, I was certainly excited when I got my first cell phone. There was a clown, free ice cream and give aways...it was intense. Then we went to a church, it was Catholic if you can believe it. In any event the church was definitely the prettiest one I have seen so far. But then things took a creepy turn. We went into a little side room where there was essentially a glass casket with what I thought was a wood carving or other statue of a saint. Well as it turns out is actually THE saint, the dead body of St. Sebastian. He has been dead for a looooonnnnngggg time. He also has no toes on his scary dead feet because they were cut off in order to provide miracles or something. He is one of Puebla's most important saints so I tried to hide my horror as much as possible. The good news is that I will be home in a little over a week!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb