Life's a beach!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Puerto Escondido
October 24th 2011
Published: October 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

My last morning in Mazunte was spent eating a yummy fruit crepe, feeding 'my' starving street dog some fresh meat, and saying good bye to my new friend, Paulo. After that, it was hasta luego Mazunte! Had arranged a taxi to pick me up and off we went. The scenery was beautiful for the next hour to PE. Got dropped off at the Towerbridge Hostal. Dedided that it smelled too much like mildew, so off I went in search of a nicer place. Found a wonderful 'homebase' for the next three days at the Hotel Mayflower. I was on the third floor, with ocean view, spacious villa like lounge to lounge in, and open deck. I felt like a queen. I was a block from all the activity in the Principle Playa area. There were all sorts of good restaurants, and bars you could just about crawl to. Most of them had tables and chairs on the beach.

Spent most of my time watching the world go by, reading my book, drinking mojitos, eating tacos, swimming, and meeting a few nice folk.

After a morning boat tour of the cute little bays, I ran into some guys cleaning their yellowfin tuna they had just caught. They were having their fillets cooked up a beachside restaurant. They,also made a sashimi dish. I was invited to join them, and had one of the best lunches ever! Two of them were directors and have just come out with new movie called 'Tequila'!

Enjoyed getting up early every morning to watch the fishing pangas zoom up onto the sand, then watch the locals swarm their boats in search of the perfect fish.

The morning I left PE...I ended up meeting the owner of the stinky mildewy place. Small town, eh! He was having coffee at the same place I was. I didn't have the heart to tell him his place stunk.

The bus ride back to Oaxaca was beautiful. We went back up and over mountains (9,000 feet), only a different route. It still was as potholey and treacherous as the first time, and I was still the only gringa on the bus. I did enjoy the scenery, but it is a looong trip (6.5 hours).

Last night in Oaxaca I enjoyed free street music, free tea, free mezcal, and a free spectacular fireworks show in the Zocolo.

Some favorite sounds of Oaxaca have been the steamed banana wagon's whistle, fresh oj being squeezed, church bells, crashing waves, and the bellowing mooooo sound of the propane truck (to alert potential customers that they are in the neighborhood).

Some favorite drinks/foods of Oaxaca have been fresh fruit salads, fresh squeezed juices, fresh horchata, mexican hot chocolate, pulque beer, oaxacan cheese, fresh guacamole, mole nego, chile rellenos, tlayudas, and of course, that wonderful caught yellowtail! The chapulines (fried grasshoppers) are not making it on my favorite list. Altho, I am bringing some home for the brave to try!

It is truly amazing how many new sights, sounds and tastes one can delight in....in just two weeks. Gracias Oaxaca por un buen tiempo!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Beachside bar/restaurantBeachside bar/restaurant
Beachside bar/restaurant

sorry...not that i like this photo that much, but just can't find out how to delete the duplicate!


26th October 2011

Tack söta Kristina!
Thank´s for letting me feel the smell of mojitos and many moore exotic things. Thanks for letting me see the sunny beaches and almost feel the breeze. Sweden is getting colder and colder, darker and darker. We light candles to fight the darkness and the christmas decorations in the shopping malls have started.

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb