Mexican Pipe and other stories


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Puerto Escondido
November 28th 2008
Published: November 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post


You all know I love you but this is going to be a short one because, well, because I am three feet from a hot sandy beach with crashing waves and I have better things to do! So It was a crazy last two weeks in Oaxaca, which luckily was pre empted by a two day trip to the mountains. Ixtapec de Juarez is a little eco-tourism resort run by the local town and the money generated goes back into the community. There is zip-lining, hiking, mountain biking, horse back riding and more. The cabins were lovely and all had fireplaces (which were very welcome all day a night). It was an interesting experience because it was really, really cold! One never thinks of Mexico as a place where it gets bellow zero, but I assure you, it does, wayyyyy bellow zero. There was much huddling next to the fire and arguing over how to make it hotter but not eat our wood to fast.

After the beautiful mountains it was back to the city to finish up all the lose ends and say goodbye to all our families, teachers, language partners and everyone else we have met here. It was a very emotional time for us all and made it very hard to be excited to move forward in our adventures. Our language partners put on a traditional Gelligetsa for us, which is dancing and feasting from all over Oaxaca, and one of my SA’s showed me a good spot to buy handmade tops like Frida Kahlo’s. I said goodbye to my students and was overwhelmed by all their little heart felt presents. I have now two mixed cd’s of favourite Mexican pop music, a beautiful pair of black pottery earrings, some chocolate and a Dora the Explorer pin! You can guess which my favourite is.

On Wednesday I had a final comida with my amazing host family and packed my bags sadly. Thursday morning they drove me to the bus and there were many goodbye hugs. Then we boarded the bus for a nine hour rattling ride through the sierra mountains. It was luxury compared to some of the buses I took in India but I was still very glad to tumble off the bus onto hot sand.

I could smell the beach for two hours before I got my first glimpse of the pounding surf of Puerto Escondido. The surf here is amazing and reportedly one of the ten best places in the world, known as the Mexican Pipe. It’s status on the world surf circuit is obvious as most of the passers by are toting well used boards and the tans to prove they’ve been using them. The crashing waves are constantly in the background and they quickly washed away any memory of the long dusty bus trip. We checked in, dumped our bags and hit the sand running. Into the froth we went and frolicked the last few minutes before the sun went down. Then we hit the beach huts for food and cervezas, watched the disappointing Canucks game online and fell asleep tired and supremely content.

This morning we were up with the sun and looking for a good breakfast spot. After food we headed up the hill to find a supermarket and stock up on water a cereal. That done we all went bathing suit and towel shopping as we seemed to have forgotten these important items after our two months in the mountains, and hit the dunes for a day of sun, sun, swimming and more sun. They have schools in Puerto Escondido right? Schools that need English teachers?

I am now exhausted after watching surfer after surfer paddle out into the pipe only to get worked thoroughly and wash up on the sand with their board a few minutes later. Every now and then a good boarder drops in and that is always worth the wait to watch. I can watch these guys all day….oh wait, that is what I did today!

I got home to find the dive shop open and I get to go diving tomorrow! Two dives and I can’t wait! So enjoy the pictures and don’t get too jealous.

Xo
S



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

My host familyMy host family
My host family

Margerita, Fabiola y Adolfo


30th November 2008

Oaxaca is the best plaze
I love oaxaca, nice photos. www.heckennedy.com, from oaxaca

Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.148s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb