Puerto Escondido


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Puerto Escondido
July 21st 2007
Published: September 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After a week in Distrito Federal and visiting city after city I thought it was time for a change of pace for a bit. I headed for the Oaxaca coast to check out some of the nicest beaches along Mexico's Pacific. In order to reach Puerto Escondido I decided to go to Acapulco first in order to break up what would have been a 12 hour bus ride. Upon arrival to Acapulco I must say I was extremely disappointed. It was this large city with all these high rise edificios, the beaches were small and crowded and the city was very dirty. I was not impressed!! No problem though, I hopped on the earliest bus to Puerto Escondido and found exactly what I was looking for!! I had such a great time in Puerto that I stayed there for almost a week, unwinding during the day and partying at night!!

Puerto Escondido is world famous for its surfing and there I met many people who were traveling to do just that!! Travelers going through Mexico and Central America carrying their board right beside their backpack was the common scene. The first night in Puerto I went out to dinner with some of the guys from my dorm room and found them explaining to me all about the science of waves and surfing that before had been a foreign culture to me. They were so hard core they would get up at 5-6AM each morning for the best morning waves, sleep and chill out all afternoon and then go out again about 4 PM for another two hours, go to bed early and then do it again. They told me stories about how dangerous the waves are and of all the people that had died trying to get their surf on at the famous Mexican pipeline. They recommended a good place for rookies like myself to try out surfing for the first time and I was so excited to hit some waves the next morning!!

I didnt manage to make it to the beach at 6 AM like all the experts but made it out in time to rent a board for the day. I grabbed the 17 year old lifeguard who had basically been surfing since he could walk and he gave me a lesson for about $8. Although I managed to stand up on the board for only
Mexican BBQ!!Mexican BBQ!!Mexican BBQ!!

chorizo, carne de res, frijoles, cebollas, chile y por supuesto tortilla!!
about 3 seconds or so, I could see why this sport gets addicting. I found it so relaxing to be out on the ocean paddling out to catch some waves and when I was able to stand up for a few seconds on the tabla the rush of adrenaline just takes over!! After a day of my first surf attempt, I had a new found respect for all the experts who were out on some of the most challenging waves in the world just down the beach on playa zicatela.

The nightlife in puerto was amazing! I found myself at after hours parties that kept me out until 6 AM for over 3 or 4 nights in a row- which often consisted of dancing on the sand with a DJ mixing under a straw hut!! Great times!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb