Oaxaca Day of the Dead 2012


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Oaxaca
October 26th 2012
Published: October 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Day of the Dead Skull MasksDay of the Dead Skull MasksDay of the Dead Skull Masks

Two crafted Day of the Dead Skull Mask that Nick and I made for a project. Can you guess which one was mine?
Well getting ready to fly to Mexico for a trip to Oaxaca. I have been to Oaxaca before but never for Day of the Dead. Really looking forward to seeing all the different Art, Parades and just overall Festivities. They really do it up there and suppose to be the busiest week of the year for Oaxaca. I will be traveling from mexico City by bus (Yikes 7 hours!) I will be traveling with Nick (for those who don't know him check Italy Blog). We are doing this on quite a budget but planning to have lots of fun. Did get a pedometer for the trip as I plan on walking a lot! It will be fun to document miles walked everyday. We will be staying at a popular older Hotel called the Hotel Monte Alban, after the ruins. The hotel is right on the main Zocalo (Main Plaza) so will be easy to get in and out of all the goings on. We will have about a week to enjoy before heading back to Mexico city for one night and then fly home. We have no set plans so this will just unfold in to what I hope will be a great adventure for me and a good read for you! Hasta Luego Mi Amigo's

Advertisement



26th October 2012

Have a fab time.
Glad you are having a getaway. Keep us posted.
29th October 2012

como estas?
Me gustaria mucho Oaxaca. I spent one month in Oaxaca city. I wonder how big it is now, 20 years ago it was very simple and cultural. I can't wait to hear about your journey. Enjoy it, it is rainy, cold and dark here.

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb