Wrapping up my Blog for Italy


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Emilia-Romagna » Reggio Emilia
June 2nd 2012
Published: June 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
Well I figured I have been back for a few days and I should wrap up my blog for this trip. I must say I had a fantastic time and really enjoyed my whirlwind trip to London and Northern Italy. Most of you probably heard about all the recent Earthquakes in Italy. Well where I was staying was right in the middle of it, however I was pretty lucky in that we arrived in Reggio Emilia the day after the first major quake and traveling on a train for the second one. Other than a jolt I missed it entirely except the bit of hysteria of the locals worried the big one may strike. My heart goes out to those that lost their homes or a worse a family member. For the most part the area was very safe and incredibly clean and filled with really nice people. Thinking back on my trip I decided maybe just some of the highlights.

London Quick Highlights: Staying with Leslie at her flat. After having spent the last 18 years in London she makes a great tour guide. We covered a lot of ground in London we walked 11 miles one day and
The Sculptures are so beautiful hereThe Sculptures are so beautiful hereThe Sculptures are so beautiful here

Just a door way I couldn't help taking a picture of
9 or more the next (Leslie wears a pedometer, every traveler should wear one I have decided). We covered as much ground as we could It would take weeks to really see London let alone England. I was happy I was able to take a train outside of London and see some of the lovely countryside. With all the history surrounding you it is really cool seeing some of the old Taverns with their dark, dank history or gazing up at and viewing the Beautiful Old Buildings with their towers and spires all so medieval looking, riding a double decker bus and oh yeah riding in those cute cabs. It was A quick weekend but really wonderful. Also want to Thank Leslie for my last night dinner request, a Mark & Spencer takeaway! Seems like I have read many a book set in London and someone is always getting M&S. This fabulous store is devoted to good takeaway foods for those on the go. I must say at 10 pounds ($15 US) you could get an appetizer, dinner and a bottle of wine, heat and serve. For London to feed two people on 10 pounds is cheap. The one she got was really tasty. I felt a little like Bridget Jones sitting in Leslie’s flat, drinking wine and eating takeaway and chatting away the evening.

Reggio Emilia highlights: Having the opportunity of meeting and socializing with local Italians. Not only did I meet them we ended up having a party for them and knowing they enjoyed the food and fun was huge for me! Another of my favorite memories was riding our bikes all through town and just stopping for a quick Espresso fix or a delicious Gelato. Little Cafes are everywhere they take coffee very serious here Cappuccino anyone?. We had so much fun riding out to the countryside along trails and gravel roads (not sure which hurt the butt more, the cobblestone streets or the dirt trails LOL). It was a real Dairy and farming area so you didn’t have to ride far to feel like you are out of town. Just riding through the lush farmland of wheat, green chard and grapes felt like it was right out of a picture, it was everything you imagine Italy to be. So lucky in my timing to see all the poppies dotting the fields with their brilliant red color making it look like a colorful red and green carpet. I couldn’t have asked for more beautiful sunny days letting you know that spring was in full bloom. One of our jaunts out of town brought us to a small group of trees with ripe blackberries hanging (yes they grow differently here) and how we stopped and picked to our hearts content staining our hands like we use to do as kids. Also riding around town I was constantly in awe of the old buildings and their narrow alleyways with colorful flowers hanging from the balconies above. Really was a scene out of a travel poster. Last but not least how amazing the food was just too good to describe, platters of Parma ham and Prosciutto and Parmesan cheese, it was all so wonderful. This is where Parmesan Reggiano cheese comes from and the many different variety’s from their age, farm etc made each one unique and delicious. They often would just chunk some up in the middle and drizzle a little of the local honey on it, the salty and sweet Delizioso!!! Thanks go to Nick and Mark who were such great hosts and guides with their grasp
Delicious treatsDelicious treatsDelicious treats

We just put togther some of the great goodies we found out and about today! Canoli, african chocolate rolls, ricotta cigars, lemon gelato and a crusted fritatta we had made for dinner! Don't worry we didn't eat it all in one setting!
of the Italian language making things so easy, it just wouldn’t have been so fantastic or possible without them.

Overall Highlights: I loved how easy and efficient the train service seems to be. We could get on a train early in the morning and be at the coast in three hours or take a quick train trip to Bologna in one hour and many other smaller towns even quicker. Because it was all new to me I really was fine to see anything. However the trip to Venice was much more than I expected. I fell in love at first sight Venice really is an amazing city filled with beauty and just awesome sights everywhere you look. Definitely a magical place and so glad I fantastic memories of it. Even staying in Lido just a boat ride away was like stepping into a new place that very much reminded me of Santa Barbara. It’s old houses converted to B&B’s just a lovely place to be I can see why the Italians go there for vacations and with a view of Venice I mean it just doesn’t get any better than that. Then when we went to Bologna with all its major downtown streets lined with Porticos so whether it is raining or sunny you are shielded from the weather and still able to stroll and eat Al Fresco know matter what the time of the year it is. You could just imagine how it was 200 or 300 years ago when probably this was a big part of their social life and still is. Another favorite place was Cinque Terre a place on the Adriatic Sea. The little villages are all built on the cliffs the name meaning 5 Villages in the earth. You can hike between each one or you can take the train from each village. We decided with our time to just do 2 of them. In Monterossa Al Mare we had lunch at a beachfront restaurant overlooking the sea. After a lovely lunch we took a short swim and just soaked up the sun and people watched. Finishing up wit a glass of Sangrias before heading to our next village perched high on a cliff with small little alley ways with houses and little shops selling Limoncello and beachside trinkets. I managed to get a few bottles of Limoncino and Olive Oil before racing to
Old FarmOld FarmOld Farm

Just found this abandoned farm building at the end of a dirt road. I believe that they never tear anything down on purpose!
catch the train. Later at dinner we told the Locals that we had taken the train and spent the day to their astonishment they wouldn’t go unless they had a minimum of a week. We were tired but so glad we did it! I could go on and on but I will save more stories for dinner parties! Thanks for checking out my trip and even if you didn’t get to go I hope I gave you some inspiration and insight to make your own trip to Italy!

Ciao


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

Train StationTrain Station
Train Station

I thought this was a really quaint Italian Train Stop.
Milk, Our favorite little CafeMilk, Our favorite little Cafe
Milk, Our favorite little Cafe

This was right across the street so we spent every morning getting our first Coffee and these little rolls filled with Nutella! Also at 5 pm they set out lot's of tasty foods for Apertivis and Prosecco!
The upper village of MonterossaThe upper village of Monterossa
The upper village of Monterossa

Would love to have spent more time here looked like my kind of place.
Beach viewBeach view
Beach view

You can rent these little rooms for the day to keep your things, take a break from the sun, change etc. I think they were about 10 Euro's a day.
Cinque Terre MonterossaCinque Terre Monterossa
Cinque Terre Monterossa

So beautiful!! Felt very European with its bathing houses and rented chairs and umbrellas. Sangris anyone?
FarmhouseFarmhouse
Farmhouse

Just a pretty farmhouse
Water Baby!Water Baby!
Water Baby!

Couldn't help myself the water was a bit chilly but very clear and rocky bottom.
Lower part of MonterossaLower part of Monterossa
Lower part of Monterossa

Yu walk down these steep little narrow rock formed alleys to reach where the fisherman bring in the catch.
Our partyOur party
Our party

We invited about 10 people and had just the best time even if I couldn't understand
View of the CoastlineView of the Coastline
View of the Coastline

This was a view we had at lunch eating Caprice Salad, Tuna and crisp white wine! I mean it doesn't get much better than that in my view.


8th June 2012

Magnifico!
I love this traveling with no stress--great job, Kim!
8th June 2012

Great Pictures... and wonderful insight.
It sounds like your trip was amazing! I am glad you enjoyed yourself. Italy is always presenting in one surprise after another, and I am glad you were able to experience a little bit of the diversity that makes the country so delightful.

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb