Getting here


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Nuevo Leon » Monterrey
July 31st 2006
Published: August 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Things are going well so far. Once I got past sitting beside the 350 lb. man sitting beside/on me during the plane ride. We kept breathing together because his entire arm was on top of mine; I was pinned in and my neck hurt from the awkward angle in which I was sitting. The worst part was that it wasn't even my seat; someone had taken mine. I was so relieved to get a seat (the last one) with Big Guy that I didn't remember to become angry with the guy that switched around so as not to be stuck in my position.
All the people here have been super warm and helpful so far. I don't have a host family because they had me signed up as coming next year... go figure. Anyway, I'm staying in the dorms for at least 2 nights while they wait for a cancelation and put me with a host family. The campus is swank so far.

I had a friend already by the time I was in the Atlanta airport. I sat down at my gate and I saw a girl about my age that just looked like she was going to study abroad, so I sat down and asked her, and she said yes... and that she was going to Tec too, so I had a friend all the way through. Her name is Julia; she's from UT. She said that she knew of at least 4 others from UT coming. Also talked with a girl from the other UT (Texas), a guy from North Dakota (who I thought was speaking Spanish but he just speaking N. Dakotaan), a girl named UNC Greensboro, and a guy from Germany. Everybody is taking different routes, some staying in apartments, some with families, and one in the dorms. Anyway, there's an option of an all you can eat Mexican buffet tonight, so I guess I'm going to do it since I don't have any host family cooking for me.

There seems to be a ton of international students, and I think that we're going to have a pretty good time.
Christin

Advertisement



1st August 2006

Dory!! you rock. You are going to have so much fun!! Keep the updates coming! I am gonna miss you so much during hellacious preseason!!!!! RAchel
1st August 2006

!!!
Hey! Glad you made it! Sorry about Big Guy and the host family situation, that's a bummer but maybe your new host family will been 10x as wonderful as the other one would have been! Glad you've already met some people. I bet it won't take you any time at all to have some more... you so crazy! Field day it up!
1st August 2006

Cool travel blog Christin. Have fun in Mexico!
1st August 2006

That fat guy sounds like a drag! i love you!
2nd August 2006

I'm here too!
I was editing my own travelblog just now and stumbled upon yours... anyway, I'm studying at Tec this semester as well. Just thought I'd say hello! :)
2nd August 2006

That sounds awsome! You are going to have a blast there! Eat some Mexican food for me! I hope that you get a wonderful host family! I miss ya girly!!!! Love ya!
2nd August 2006

I know...
I bet that old man made you REALLY miss John ROse. I mean c'mon.

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb