Mischief in Monterrey


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Nuevo Leon » Monterrey
April 12th 2009
Published: April 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Alright so as stated before it's been a while since updating last, and this is part two of this update frenzy. I congratulate you for making it this far, but there's still more to come. Now I haven't been traveling too much up to this point but I have done a bit of journeying around Monterrey and Hanging out with friends, Mexican and Exchange, and of course studying. That's why I came here in the first place right? Wrong I came here for a different cultural experience, it just so happens that in order for me to do that and to finance it and make it worth the school's, and my parent's, time money I have to study and take classes. But it's not too bad. Let's take a look at what I do in Monterrey shall we?

To start off the week i spend Mondays either studying for my classes or hanging out on campus, studying and chatting. I also take this free day to be active like exercise or play tennis. Lately I have played tennis with my friend Amy, and by play tennis i mean we just hit the ball back and forth as many times as
Bebe and IBebe and IBebe and I

My host neice and I. I gave her a Hannah Montana Barbie doll i got from a White Elephant Party.
we can, we don't worry about out or in. Amy hadn't ever played tennis before, and it's been a LONG time since I had played, almost like I had never played before. Then Tuesdays I spend in classes in the morning, which aren't too bad. I have Fluid Mechanics which is getting really interesting. We're getting to the point of being able to define a fluid mathematically at any point, like the pressure, the force, the viscosity, and the flow. I then go to Mexican Culture class which is probably my favorite class. I this class we look at the modern culture of Mexico and then go back and learn about the history that brings certain traits and habits about. A really cool class that if you're ever studying abroad in Mexico you should look into taking it. After Culture of Mexico I have a few hour break where I take my habitual siesta and get ready for afternoon classes, normally printing off notes for class and finishing homework. Next comes my Communication Strategies Class. Sounds really interesting, but it's just a really basic spanish class to get you to talk more. It's easy and the teacher's really cool so I'm not complaining. Then is Thermodynamics. That class is easy when I study and the teacher is SUPER nice but it took me forever to establish a student teacher relationship beyond the classroom, which really helps even if you don't like the class. So normally after Thermo I go back home have some dinner with the family and then call it a night. Wednesday is about the same as Monday, and Thursday like Tuesday.

Although the weekdays sound boring, they're not all the same. One week we had a lady from Veracruz come and teach us about the ancient history of chocolate and how to make it. Chocolate comes from the Cacao bean, which comes from the Cacao tree, which comes from the Gods. Chocolate is a sign of the gods because of the symbol that is makes when you stir it. It becomes a swirly symbol like a snail shell. This symbol is the symbol for movement, which transfers into everything, talking, singing, dancing, working, everything. This symbol of movement is also a symbol of the Aztec Creator God Quetzlcoatl, the feathered serpent (quetzl-bird,or feather and coatl-serpent). Quetzlcoatl is also one of the Mayan Creator Gods, Kukulcan (the God of wind, again movement). Through multiple reasons and explanations Cacao became the base form of currency, everything was based on it's value. When the Spanish came to Mexico they found out about the Cacao and also used it for goods, like in drinks. They realized its value because they hadn't heard of it before and so there were extravagantly decorated cups for the drinks and all sorts of unique dishes for the chocolate. So after we had learned TONS about chocolate and Cacao, we made it! Man that was awesome. You start out by cooking the dried Cacao seeds which give off an amazingly delicious aroma. Then you roast your cinnamon and almonds, or whatever you want to mix in with it. After everything is roasted you peel the Cacao seeds and then grind everything. after grinding it once you mix it together and put in your sugar. After mixing thoroughly you grind it a second time, and mix it one more time. While grinding the chocolate has a little oil in it which has been used as a skin softener or skin healing lotion, if you rub it on and then rinse your hands with just water it feels amazing. So now the chocolate is ready to eat and can last for years!

So for me the weekend starts on Friday which is great I get 4 days of rest between my weeks. During the weekend sometimes I just go downtown and chill, other times I hang out with people who also don't have class. And other times we just go on small escapades. These escapades have consisted of going to the Bioparque (zoo), Lucha Libre Fights (Mexican Wrestling), and Soccer Games.

The Bioparque is a pretty small place outside of Monterrey but it's tons of fun with a large group. They have a miniature Zip-line, various petting zoo animals, a paddle-boat pond, a Safari adventure, a bird show, and even a Dinosaur park. The Safari adventure is a thrilling experience, one way better than in the States. You get into a big open van/truck-like vehicle and can get some animal feed before hand. As you enter into the "Safari" area, you are immediately attacked by hungry Camels, Long-horned bulls, Emu's, and Ostriches! It's ridiculous fun. After that you keep going and get to the zebra and goat area. The sweet thing is that in Mexico there are no regulations about petting these animals, so as long as you can reach then while in the car you are allowed to pet them. Needless to say I was thrilled about petting zebras because i have never done that before. Then you take a journey over to the monkeys that are on an island in the middle of a small lake so that they don't escape the exhibit. After the monkeys comes the Giraffes! If you still have food left at this point you can feed the giraffes and pet them, again AWESOME! You then move on to Hippos, and back to the beginning. It's a great start to your visit. The other activities like the Zip-line and paddle boats are extremely fun! There's also a motor-tube area that has tons of the fake Coi fish, swans, and monkeys on islands again. Along with these activities there is a trail to go see some waterfalls if you have time. But who could forget the bird show?! They have three trained parrots that perform tricks such as riding a bike, skateboard, and skooter, balancing on a basketball, and "bowling". I have Bowling in quotes because the bird actually just picks the ball up with it's beak, walks over and knocks the pins down by hitting them with the ball. But it's still a great time!

As mentioned before I also have gone to a soccer game. I would compare the ambience of the Rayados, the team from Tec, game to that of the student section of a college football game. It is said that Soccer is the second religion of Mexico, and I believe it! During the game the entire stadium cheers all game long, and yells/curses at the other team. And when we scored the stadium went NUTS! Everyone immediately jumps up and throws their beer everywhere. You're suddenly covered in beer even if you're not the one drinking it. It's like confetti made of beer. Absolutely ridiculous! the half-time entertainment is better than any i've ever seen. It was an obstacle course made up of giant house mascots throwing lassos, a trampoline into an angled net that you had to climb and then to finish it off you had to kick a goal against a house mascot while wearing drunk-goggles. When I say house mascots, i mean people in a giant foam-house outfit. It was the funniest thing to watch these little kids run this course. Most of them just hit the dirt before even grabbing onto the net, which was funny enough, but some were lucky/skilled enough to make it to the drunk goggles part. While most missed, two lucky kids made a goal and went crazy like lifting their shirt over their head and sliding on the field. But, back to the game we were down at half-time 2-1 and finished the game in a tie 2-2, which is still great in the soccer world!

Now as for the Lucha Libre Fights, I believe that these are my favorites. It's a mix of ridiculous slapstick comedy, stupid comedy, and super sweet acrobatics. These three powers combined make a super entertaining spectacle. there's no other way to describe these fights than to watch them so here's a link to a video i made of part of the fight... . Maybe I can get some of these other video shorts to work.

Anyways that's how life goes in Mexico. I know you're thinking how do i do it week after week, it's so tough. Well you're right i just try and make it
through, it's a rough life i live. Until next time.

Live life to the fullest and without regrets,
Rob


Additional photos below
Photos: 55, Displayed: 28


Advertisement



Tot: 0.209s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 14; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1128s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb