Bienvenido Mexico


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Nuevo Leon » Monterrey
June 29th 2007
Published: June 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I finally arrived in Monterrey after getting zero sleep the night before, but thats what I get for leaving all my packing and prep for the last minute! The rush of finally arriving to Mexico by far exceeded my sleepless night and I felt a high like no other- no place to sleep, I stick out like a sore thumb as not many tourists pass through this city that is only a 1 hour flight from Houston. Everywhere I go the music stops and people stare at the half gringo/half latin dude walking around the city- but hey thats part of the experience. As soon as I arrived to Monterrey I knew I wouldnt stay long, the city is perhaps the most Americanized of all Mexican cities with Home Depots, Burger Kings and all the other common franchises of the US.

I was thrown a curve ball when I told the cab driver from the airport the part of the city I wanted to stay in and he looked at me like I belonged in a psycho ward (after looking at my lonely planets book on the plane I thought I had it all figured out). He proceeded to explain that the zone I was looking to stay at was "muy peligroso" and that all the prostitutes and drug dealers hang out there and that I would most likely be robbed. So I took his advice and decided to check out this place he recommended that was also no Beverley Hills. I looked around for about 20 minutes before realizing what a target I was with my 30 lb backpack and pale skin as I could feel the stares of everyone looking at me as if they have never seen "my kind" before. So I took up the cab driver´s suggestion and stayed at the first place he took me to. I guess this is part of the exhiliration of traveling on your own-sometimes you just have to trust your instincts.

I decided to walk over to the metro station and check out the city. I found it ironic that the largest station in the city did not have a map, but the locals helped me find my way. As soon as I arrived at my desination (Zona Rosa) it started pouring rain like crazy. I ended up standing under a storefront for about an hour and a half as the rain kept pouring down. It was all good though, I took the opportunity to practice my spanish with some locals who were in the same boat as me trying to keep dry.

Finally the rain came to a hault and I continued to walk to Zona Rosa in the drizzle. There I decided to stop at a cybercafe and alert everyone back home that I was still alive and well. Upon leaving the cafe, I started to shoot the breeze with one of the workers their named Jesus and he gave me my first lesson in Mexican slang. Some new additions to my vocab include-

morras, chavas- chicks
chido- "cool"
wall (pronounced "way")- man or dude
orale- lets go, sometimes used instead of vamos- a very common expression is "orale wall" which I now hear ALL THE TIME

Jesus ended up showing me around his city and took me to the historical district and his favorite taco joint. I was really pumped for my first meal in Mexico and I was not dissapointed! Next we headed back to the cyber cafe where he works and helped him close up. I thanked him for showing me around and being an awesome tour guide and then I went to my hotel and passed out like I never have before!!





Advertisement



5th July 2007

George in Mexico
Dear Georgey, so good to hear that you are having such a good time! We are proud of you! Much love, Mom and Dad...
5th July 2007

George in Mexico
Dear Georgey, so good to hear that you are having such a good time! We are proud of you! Much love, Mom and Dad...
5th July 2007

Make it rain
I just had some Tacos tonight...MMM Good is right.
15th September 2007

jesus
jesus nailed with the spanish slang...lol

Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.1269s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb