Taste of Playa and Whoopsie...


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Playa del Carmen
November 23rd 2011
Published: November 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

SO, the food festival I was to attend in Playa, wow, yeah lots to tell, but how about I start with the fact my 12 year old daughter ended up back at CHEO again (in other words I am avoiding discussing one of the main reasons I came here; a major food event).

OK, so as for Lara, so far they have run tests and it's inconclusive why she's having such major pain. The phone was out for a bit in our condo, and the internet failed at one point so I had NO idea how she was doing. Tough for a mommy that's taken her first trip away. I had left the girl's health cards with Al just in case...Hello? He didn't have to make USE of them!!

It was a beautiful day here (even a crappy day in Playa is a good day). I strolled for an hour while Danielle slept in, had a nice breakfast and came back ready to shower & head to "Taste of Playa International Food Festival". Yesssirreee Bob, was I EXCITED. Danielle could take it or leave it, but she kindly humored me & was game to go along...Yes sirreee (sorry for the overuse of sirreee!) but I was really thrilled to be part of such a fantastic food event.

So after getting all gussied up, I sat down to look at our VIP passes I'd bought, & saw the date on them and my heart missed a beat. I looked at the voucher again, and took a double-take at the date on my computer and the realization hit me, that OMG, the food festival wasn't TODAY but had been held yesterday! Are you freakin' kidding me?! WAH 😞

Holy crap batman? What? Ah tartar sauce (well I said something stronger than that but for manners sakes). I had missed the dang food festival I had in part traveled here for?!! I swear if you'd have heard the ruckus, cursing, groaning and kicking of furniture that went on in my room you'd surely have thought someone was being badly injured. (warning to that annoying kid loudly whacking pool noodles what's possible if I'm perturbed.) NEVER have I done that before. I can only reason that I saw November 21st on their website from last year's festival and it stuck in my tiny mind. And the voucher said Nov. 20th-not SUNDAY November 20th. Hello organizers? Put a day along with a date on a bleeping ticket would you??

Danielle wasn't awake when I made this &^%$#@ realization, so I wrote her an in-depth (OK swearing) note about the situation (screw-up) and said I had to take another walk (which meant go get a big drink) to brush it off (not go jump in the ocean) friggin' snafu. Ahhh... I honestly could NOT believe I did that. (Danielle must have heard something cause as I was kicking sand down the beach she yelled to me from the balcony. She gave me a shoulder to wah on!

So I emailed the organizer who I was going to meet at the festival and told her the sorry sad tale of a story. She had a laugh about it, and of course sympathized with me. I would've liked to have just told a fib to everyone about attending, ("Oh it was lovely darling, the food was amazing, in particular this shrimp dish") and photoshopped my head onto someone else that had the good sense to show up, but instead of writing my blog on a "Taste of Playa", it will sadly go down in memory as "NO Taste of Playa". Not one crummy morsel. Don't you just feel a bit sorry for me?? OK, go ahead, GLOAT because despite the shenanigans, I am still in a tropical paradise.

After a few strong margaritas & some decompressing time, the world was right-side up again. Had a nice massage and by then, I was kinda (KINDA) laughing about it all. I even waved to that annoying kid at the pool (will wonders never cease). If you don't know about the annoying kid see previous blogs.

It all ended on a good note as we went to Yaxche, an award winning restaurant that is a must-dine at, according to Cond Naste and Caribbean travel magazines. So I spoke to the manager of this high-end restaurant and I ended up getting the royal tour of the kitchen, met the Chef, the staff, heard about the food and local ingredients that go into their Mayan/Mexican themed dishes which was a real experience. Overall it was a fabulous end to what started out as a bit of a grunt day. As they say, 'this too shall pass'.

I also got my picture taken with the Mayan snake man outside the restaurant. Boy they sure embrace the Mayan themes and gods which they should, being one of the great ancient civilizations of all times! (see side pic)

We had a superb meal, well treated (and somewhat on the house!) and finished the night off watching Planes Trains and Automobiles...the TV played it in Spanish first and that was pretty hilarious till we switched it to English. THE best part of that movie is "THOSE AREN'T PILLOWS"...RIP John Candy.

So now you know my sheepish story. I guess I'll just have to trek back here next November to attend this event. 😉

Few extra pics below. Not many of Danielle, she hates pics!!

"Time waits for no one" (especially me...)

Sal





Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb