Viva Mexico! Viva Morelos!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Morelos » Miacatlán
September 16th 2008
Published: September 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

So today/yesterday is/was the big celebreation of Mexican Independence Day. I'm not going to give you a history lesson, but basically Mexico gained independence from Spain and Hidalgo yelled at midnight the morning of Sept 16 "Viva Mexico!" So last night we started a program at 8pm where all of the sections prepared a dance or sketch and then there was a big dance that went till 2am or so. At midnight we had the Grito, which is where the act of Hidalgo yelling is redone and all of the Mexican people reply "Viva." It was all pretty cool. My kids did a dance and we dressed then up like stereotypical Mexican men and women complete with makeup and eyeliner beards (that I drew myself...I have a million pictures but I still can't upload anything- I don't know what the deal is). I'm going to work on this problem and soon there is going to be an overload of photos here.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb