Arrival in Puerto Vallarta


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Puerto Vallarta
April 12th 2009
Published: April 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from Puerto Vallarta! It really feels like I'm in a foreign country here (gag). I have arrived during Semana Santa (holy week) and it is absolutely packed, big fiesta! This will be my home for the next 6 weeks. I have spent the first few days getting orientated and practicing what little Spanish I know(in addition to lounging around in the sun!). It's suprising how much you pick up during the day just from walking around...I even got asked directions to the shops by a local in Spanish! (i'm sure I sent her the wrong way!). Ha I thought, I must be blending in with the locals already...not so, the next guy I met wanted to show me some pretty ladies!! I also plucked up the courage to get on a local bus back from a trip to the Marina, to the north of the city. Out of a choice of around 50 buses I somehow managed to get the only one that went the scenic route through the back streets, good experience though.

Puerto Vallarta is half resort and half colonial town with a population of around 300,000. I am staying near the old town which has retained its original identity and culture, no neon signs or high rise hotels. The main part of town, the centro is adjacent to the old town and has the majority of the night life. The villa I'm staying at is up a steep hill and has an amazing view of the bay of Banderas. The sunset alone is worth the visit. The villa is only about 5 miutes from the beach, Playa de los Muertos - (beach of the dead, nice!)

I look forward the arrival of mi amigo Juan de Escocia on Tuesday!,

hope all is well, will update soon

David


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0682s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb