Futbol


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Guadalajara
June 18th 2006
Published: June 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Did you know that the World Cup is on??? I'll be the first to admit that I never paid attention to this event in previous years, but being here in Mexico during the World Cup is awesome! On Friday at 2 o'clock in Guadalajara I was sitting in a crowded bar with a HUGE michelada (beer, lots of lime juice, and worcestershire sauce) that I couldn't even finish. It was Mexico vs. Angola and from where I sat I had the view of the television, the people, and a busy street in Guadalajara. I was sitting with a Guadalajara transplant from the states who kept saying "look at this traffic...amazing! It's like Sunday!"

The table across from us had a handful of girls my age whom were drinking two micheladas to my one. They were so funny to watch the game with because every time Mexico got close to scoring they would start screaming. Following the screams when Mexico didn't score (which they never did the score was 0-0), the group of dudes across the bar would start chanting "ME-XI-CO, ME-XI-CO..." I'm hooked.

In other exciting news, I was talking this guy about sports and he asked me which ones I liked watching. I said "well I've recently started watching baseball because my cousin now plays for the Cubs"
"yeah, well who is your cousin?"
"Sean Marshall, he's the pitcher"
"No way! I've seen him...I know who that is"

Chido...=)

Guadalajara is a huge, diverse, and artsy city with a good feel. I've been here three days and haven't even begun to touch all the cool stuff this place has to offer. I'm hoping that I will be able to return in the future, but for now I'm off to Punta de Mita to reconnect with Kemi and hopefully catch the swell that's hitting. Much love from South of the border...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb