When A Mexican Offers You Sunscreen, Take It


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Guadalajara
March 29th 2011
Published: March 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It’s been a little bit since I’ve written, I guess the best excuse I can come up with is that I’ve been busy. Late nights and early mornings have definitely taken their toll. Anywho...

The weather here is getting increasingly warmer which is always lovely 😊

*I’m going to skip ahead a week, so the following will be about the past week*

The past week has been about getting ready for final exams again! It seems like just last week we were doing exams for the first partial. It’s so crazy to think that after this week, there’s two more weeks of school and then we’re off for two weeks for spring break, and after that we only have one month left of school!!! Time has flown by incredibly fast and it’s sort of freaking me out =/


Last week in school honestly I really didn’t do anything during the classes- hey! at least I can admit it! Thursday and Friday I went to a university to watch our schools volleyball team play in some tournament. It was a great two days off from school lol. The first day I went was a nice day, nothing too exciting, not many others went, so when I was watching the games I was with Charly. Normally I would cheer at sports games however they were all in Spanish and I knew none of them so a lot of the games were spent in silence.. And either commenting on the guys’ creepily short and too tight shorts they had on (for playing volleyball that is) or calling the other guys that were ‘watching’ the girls’ volleyball game when they were clearly checking out their butts.

My Spanish may not be fluent but I’m not stupid!! It was pretty funny to see the guys’ faces when I made a joke about them checking out the girls’ butts though- the guys thought they were being sneaky when they were being the complete opposite. Guys are dumb lol.

That day I made the rookie mistake of not wearing sunscreen. As usual it was a hot day, so I had worn a tank top under my school uniform which I had taken off when I got to the university where the games were. My legs were covered as I was in jeans, but I was wearing flats so the reflectively white tops of my feet were exposed to the harsh sun rays.

4 hours sitting in the sun....no sunscreen...bad bad bad decision. I probably should have put on sunscreen but I did the stupid thing and didn’t. The really bad thing though is that one of the girls on our volleyball team was putting on sunscreen and offered me some but I still declined!! Next time when I see all the MEXICANS putting on sunscreen, I should put on double that amount/strength. Needless to say the next few days were painful ones, but it gets better: one should was definitely way more burnt than the other.

On Friday I also went to the volleyball games, it was the last day of games before the finals. That day I made the smart decision of putting on 70 sunscreen everywhere and wearing a long sleeve shirt. Go me! ... a day late, but better late than never? Actually, how the saying should go is better now than later, but by that time it was already later sooo better late than never. I don’t know if it was because I was really sunburned or what but that day was so hot, all I wanted to do was lay down on the slightly damp grass and fall asleep.

Of course I didn’t have a hat with me or my sunglasses-which I lost, and it was the pair I actually loved 😞 and of course that had to happen on the sunnier day, just my luck. For most of the games Me and the others sat and leaned against the fence while watching the game. I think my hand got a little more sunburnt that day because over half the time it was spent up in the air blocking the sun from my sunglass-less face. After Jos finished playing his volleyball game, he came over and layed down beside me and decided to use my bag as a pillow and my arm as his sunglasses, as he too didn’t have any. Gee thanks Jos -__-

After the volleyball games everyone made a plan to go to Kevins house and hang out by his pool. That’s one thing I love about it here, you’re bound to know someone who has a pool. After stopping at my house and Rafa’s house, and a corner store to buy some chips and some other thing that looked kind of weird but tasted decent, we were on our way to his house. Somehow we were the last ones to Kevins house, and by the time we got there everyone had gotten kicked out of the pool, I guess the security guard said that there was an issue with the large amount of people? In any case we headed off to another friends pool.

We arrived to the gates the you have to go through before driving into Charly’s neighbourhood. It seems pretty common to have that here, especially for the really nice neighbourhoods. However, just before we were about to talk to the security guard to let us through we got a call from Felipe who was with Charly letting us know that everyone was at Iians house. After a few minutes on the phone figuring out the plan we were finally on our way to Iians house, and that much closer to getting into a pool!

At last!!!!!!!!!! We got to Iians house- again, the last ones there, and everyone had piled into his living room and was busy talking and laughing. Janet and I made our way upstairs to change into our bathing suits, something I should have just worn under my clothes from the moment I woke up. By the time we got downstairs everyone was making their way to the pool out back. With music and laughter filling my ears and the sun kissing my skin, it was officially another great Friday 😊 The rest of that evening was filled with getting thrown into the pool, eating pizza, dancing, talking, and on the way home; falling asleep in Charly’s car.

The next morning I groggily woke up, still tired from the night before, but managed to drag my butt out of bed and get ready for the long day ahead of me. After showering, and having breakfast I made my way over to Charly’s house, Danielle had gotten to her house the night before so I couldn’t wait to see her. All of Saturday afternoon was spent taking pictures, doing hair & makeup, listening to music, laughing, crying, & dancing. That night all four of us (Charly, Danielle, Martha, and I) crammed into the car and went to Caro’s house. It was another night of laughing, listening to music, dancing, eating, and playing card games ( I rock at poker FYI). Everyone else went home but me and Charly stayed over, I think I got about 2 hours of sleep, but Charly, of course, slept like a baby.

Sunday was the most relaxing day I’ve had since I got here, it literally consisted of three things; watching a movie or two, sleeping, and minimal talking which lead to laughter.

Today I woke up extremely tired, looked at the clock and realized that I had to be ready in under 10 minutes. My hair was still slightly damp so i couldn’t straighten it, nor did I have the time; my only option: put some mousse in and go for the beach wavey look lol. I made it through the day, barely, and went to Charlys house after school. At 4:30 I went to this language club where Charly took her Spanish lessons - the owner of the place offered me free Spanish loessons if I could come in twice a week to help little kids ( ages 4-11) with their English. Obviously I said yes!!

It was good though, a little awkward at first because I had no idea what to do but eventually it was ok lol. It’s definitely a kick in the butt when I’m supposed to be teaching these kids English and I don’t even know all the different tenses ( past perfect? wth??? Definitely don’t remember learning that in school) Anyways, it will be a good refreshers for my English grammar and will hopefully further improve my Spanish, plus I get to hang out with kids for three hours twice a week; they’re so adorable.

Heading to bed now, tomorrow I think I have two exams, and I’m not ready for either one of them, however I’m not sure if I’m even going to write them; we’ll see.

Lots of Love,

Samantha

Advertisement



29th March 2011

Awesome Blog!
I really enjoy reading of your exploits in Guadalajara- The pictures are great too. Sure sounds like you are having a great time. Keep writing- I look forward to hearing more from you Dear. Lots of Love, xxxxoooo Hasta La Vista Chica
3rd April 2011

Howdy Samantha, Sounds like you are enjoying the good life! we are watching the snow melt here and wishing for a sunburn. Hope you continue to have as much fun as you have been.See you in July or August when Canada has its 2 months of Mexican weather. Hope the Spanish is coming along well. Say hello to terry for us Marilyn
4th April 2011

Sun burned again
I guess your sun burn track record is holding up. I am sure it will turn into a tan as you always do. Kind of strange with burning in March instead of the normal May long weekend or summer. I am always smiling when I read your adventures and the fun you are having. Still Jealous and love you lots - Dad

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0707s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb