Good Times


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Guadalajara
July 9th 2009
Published: July 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'd say the best part about going to Mexico has been, besides the sights and attractions, besides the new experiences, besides learning Spanish....has been simply hanging out with the people I'm rooming with and the other GSU students that are living down the street.

Yesterday, after classes ended, we decided to go to the San Juan de Dios market near downtown Guadalajara. I had heard that it was a really big market, but I had no idea exactly to what extent. This place was actually an indoor market, and it would have taken 3 or 4 hours to shop the whole thing. It was a cramped, crowded, and hot, giant multiple-floor warehouse. If you wanted a watch, they had 'em. If you wanted sunglasses, they had 'em. If you wanted a microwave, they had 'em too. Everything from horse saddles to blankets to illegal mock-luis vuitton hadbags...from lamb's leg to french fries to sombreros... the whole place was overwhelming.

We were all starving, however, because we're still unaccustomed to the late lunch time of Mexicans. We didn't want to eat anything at the market, since nearly each of us has had some bout or another with food poisoning already while in Mexico. I am getting somewhat used to eating lunch around 3pm, but we had waited until nearly 5:00 and I was about to hurt someone if I didn't have something to eat. We had an appetizer of Mexican Cheetoes and Fanta (nourishing, right?) and then proceeded to board a bus headed for Centro Magno (the main mall). Ashley, a girl in our group, wanted "American" food. I, for once, was actually craving a taco or burrita, but at this point I would have settled for anything.

We ended up eating at Outback Steakhouse...I don't want to sound like a snob or anything, but I was SO relieved to be in a place that was spotlessly clean. Apparently, Outback here in GDL has 3 locations, and is considered a higher-end dining experience. It was strange to be in a Mexican-Australian-USian restaurant. As for the food, it was exactly the same except fewer selections of steak were available. I had been craving, of all things, a baked potato the entire time I've been in Mexico to no avail. I had a Caesar salad (which today I am wondering if it had been washed properly...) ...and I have never enjoyed a baked potato as much.

After Outback, my roommate Crystal broke her flip-flop, and the staff of the restaurant were really kind in helping us to fix it. We tried walking back to CEPE (the university) to pick up our book bags we had left earlier...we thought it was going to be 2 or 3 blocks, but it was nearly a mile. Crystal had to walk all the way there with staples and a hair tie holding her flip flop together.

Everything is an adventure here, especially with my neighborhood group from GSU. We are relatively low-conflict, and I'm so glad to have them accompanying me on all the everyday adventures!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 74; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb