1st Week


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Guadalajara
June 16th 2007
Published: June 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So far the trip has been awesome. My home is located about 15-20min away from el centro by bus. It is made up of about 50 houses and is actually gated! I don´t have any room mates for now so I have a 3 bedroom 2 ba house to myself. I´m paying for the single bad room but you know I´m in the master bedroom. I haven´t met many of the neighbors. Except for some of the kids and Don Manuel. Check out the gal. Cristobal is this little three year old who came up to me while I was chilling in the nieghborhood park and just rested his little hand on my shoulder and said ´hi´. This little kid is sweet he has loads of energy and everytime I come by the park hes running around chasing the wind, no joke.

Don Manuel is also a great guy, with tons of energy. He´s 92 years old and still crackin jokes. I sat next to him one day on the bench and now I know I can meet him there anyday after 5. The neighborhood kids love this guy. They all call him Don Manuel and a few call them abuelito. He always has sticks of chalk for the kids and extra pesos to buy them sweets. He´s always jabing away too, talks a lot and write poetry. He gave me a few, they all have a great tempo and ryhm beautifully. I´ll scan them eventually. Writes alot about love and love of God and life. I´ve never met a person so in love with life, I´m sure he´ll hit triple digits.

I´ve explored a lot of the centro moving by bus. Last night was my first time going out at night. The clubs i visited were small live music joints playing ska-reggae. They were both really small with a lot of energy and great prices.

Tonight I´m going to one of the Security Guards weddings, he was the first person I met here. Well that´s all for now peace out everyone...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb