Pachuca


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Hidalgo » Pachuca
June 18th 2007
Published: June 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

In Mexico, Pachuca is known for soccer as it was the gateway through which futbol/soccer entered Mexico, introduced in the 19th century by miners from Cornwall, England. Pachuga just recently won the South American Cup and the Mexican Title as well. While the Mexican Title is a great one to have, in Carlos' family it only counts when the team America wins. Carlos, on the other hand was happy that Pachuca won because that means America didn't win. He is a fan of Chivas.

We started the day at the Cristo Rey monument, which is ONE OF the best vistas/ views of Pachuca, before making our way down to the city. From the view you can see the brightly painted houses blanketing the hillsides. The houses and buildings were just painted within the last 3 years, which is evidence of the region's rapid growth.

As I mentioned in the Real de Monte entry, Pastes are very popular here as well.

The highlight of the day was visiting the 40m - high Reloj Monumental (Clock Tower), which was built between 1904 and 1910. They are currently cleaning the Clock Tower for the next two years and to raise money for the cleaning they are offering tours of the Clock Tower. They are struggling to find funding for the cleaning because most of the business' in Pachuca are not contributing. At first I thought the $25 pesos/2.50 dollars approx. for the tour was expensive, but they it made sense. They just started the tours within the last two months, so our timing was perfect.

I was the first one to put on the yellow safety harness with attached clips and then I was clipped to Carlos once he had his harness on. Half way up to the top Carlos informed me that the reason we all had the safety harness on was due to the earthquakes. OK...I am from the midwest and often I forget this fact. We made it to the top and back without any earthquakes...in case you were wondering.

I was nervous at first because we were literally walking up thin metal stairs and scaffolding. At first it didn't seem to safe, but then I remember we had the yellow safety harness on and I was attached to Carlos. That will save us if we fall 40 m...right!!!

As most of you know, I have a bird phobia so at different points of the walk up to the top I literally had to close my eyes...really safe right!?! Well I had no choice because the pigeons would fly off of the tower as soon as we stepped on to the next level and to me, that was my best option. Again, luckily I was clipped to Carlos.

40m is a lot higher when you are actually walking it straight up. It didn't seem so high when we were on the ground looking up. The view from the top was amazing. Definitely, this was the best way to see the city from its center, so it was worth it!!!

We also stopped in the Museo de Mineria/ Mining Museum, which provided a good overview of the industry that shaped the region. Some of the old photos of the mining conditions and the miners were quite impressive.






Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

To the top...and backTo the top...and back
To the top...and back

It was a very sunny day, especially on the top!


Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 16; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb