The Great Pacific Beach Tour - The Acapulco Leg


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guerrero » Acapulco
April 14th 2008
Published: April 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Acapulco...town of chickens on the beach! I have to admit its not my favorite place. By a long shot! Its extremely humid for one! But more importantly its dirty, its ugly, its polluted and there is FAR too much traffic! Even the old town doesnt have that much charm...the zocalo is reasonable but the markets are horrible, its bad enough being harssed to buy something at every step but having it done in English really irritates me! If I were a rich cruise ship passenger and stopped off there, or Id flown all the way from Europe for the holiday of a lifetime I would NOT be impressed!

Still its not that bad! We hit the town in the low season so it was quite quiet and because its not that glitzy its pretty cheap! We stayed in a hotel for $100 each a night, thats only 5 of your English pounds! The beaches are quite nice, and as I said one did in fact have several chickens roaming free on it, which I appreciated! The first night we ate in the Hard Rock Cafe which was really nice but VERY expensive compared to Mexican restaurants!! Though Im quite pleased
In the Acapulco Sea!In the Acapulco Sea!In the Acapulco Sea!

NOT being drowned!
to report that my garlic spinach burger and hot fudge sundae were well worth the price! They have a live band which plays every night so we stayed and watched them for a bit, they played loads of old school rock classics and were really good!

On Saturday we went to the beach for a bit, I paddled a bit gingerly in the sea, it being a bay thats almost completely enclosed the sea is not half as fierce as Puerto Vallerta or Veracruz but I still had the fear there! As far as Im concerned the Mexican sea has only one aim and that is to take you and dash you against some big rocks until you die. I dont particualy fancy that death! After a few hours we had the bright idea of having our hair cut so we headed off in the direction of a hairdressers and handed ourselves in. Im still weighing up the pros and cons of this. Iv certaintly never had my hair cut quite that way (or sat in a swivelly office chair!) before and I did look like something off the 80s for a while but now we are out of
Chocolate Fudge SundaeChocolate Fudge SundaeChocolate Fudge Sundae

Hard Rock Style!!!
the humidity its settled down and is starting to look ok! I think...

On Saturday night we headed up the STEEP hill that began just outside our hotel. Let me tell you that our proximity to this hill was a BAD thing! All the cars and vans and lorries and buses that went up or down it chose the point right outside our window to accelerate or change gear or whatever it was they were doing that made them sound like we were living right next to an airport runway! But anyway! The hill itself wasnt so bad as far as hills go, and at the top was a view of the sunset which is always really beautiful, as indeed it was until it got interrupted by a rather thoughtless cloud! Anyway...the main point of this story is that we saw the famous clavidistas (or something like that!) of Acapulco launch themselves off a cliff into the ferocious looking sea and rocks below. No-one died.

After the show we headed back down the hill to find something to eat in the zocalo. ALL through our meal we were plagued by people selling tat, even more than usual! Even
Princess Plaster!!Princess Plaster!!Princess Plaster!!

Is that not the coolest thing you ever did see? Shame my feet hate them!
tiny little children were selling toys and bits of tourist rubbish, but as well as the people trying to legitimately make a living were an unusual amount of disabled and physically deformed people wandering around begging. It really is horrible and really does upset me! Id love to give money to everyone, or buy them a meal and give them a drink but there are just too many! And the way I feel is that Im here in Mexico giving up my time and money to help people here, and that is worth more than giving a peso (or, as he quickly changed his mind when he thought I was American, a dollar...quite a difference!) to a man with a wierd arm or a man with a gouge in his leg which had turned black. I was nearly sick at that one!

Talking about injuries, I have one myself! My flip flops have attacked my foot! I think I got bitten and it rubbed under the strap and all the skin came off and it hurt ALOT! UGH! Yesterday it was all red and looked like it was infected but today Im pleased to report I think the risk
HRC Cocktails!HRC Cocktails!HRC Cocktails!

Mine was yummy!!!
of it going septic is lower. I bought some special princess plasters to stop it rubbing but I think they made it hurt worse! Im allergic to princess plasters!!! How upsetting!!!

Yesterday when we came to return to the ghetto of Tepoztlan there were no buses to Cuernavaca until 6:30 in the evening so we had to go to Mexico (passing both Cuernavaca AND Tepoztlan but they wouldnt let us off the bus!) and then turn straight around and come back. I discovered a Russell Brand podcast on my iPod and nearly wet myself laughing to it...for this reason I believe Im starved of English humour! I really dont normally find him THAT funny!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

A Palm TreeA Palm Tree
A Palm Tree

There are lots in Acapulco.
The Cliff DiversThe Cliff Divers
The Cliff Divers

Ready...Set...GO!
Sunset..Sunset..
Sunset..

AND Palm Tree


18th April 2008

if that's you getting fat then I am a mountain
Dear Lizzie, Awesome blog. I'm really enjoying reading of your travels but the photographic evidence gives the lie to your reporting - you are not fat!!! Some of the sunsets ans thescenery look totally stunning but I think that the time has now come for you to take a photo of one of the dreaded bugs, preferably before the 20th time that you clobber it. God bless you m'dear. xx

Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1095s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb