Visiting La Familia Lopez in Celaya


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guanajuato
October 20th 2008
Published: October 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Family PhotoFamily PhotoFamily Photo

Dad's family photo when he was a kid. He's the older boy.
After Guanajuato I traveled to Celaya to visit family from my dad's side. Last time I saw them was over three years ago, but before that it was probably around twenty years ago. I was excited to see them as they were to see me. They call me "Ale" here, no "x". They made me feel extremely welcome. They fed me A LOT! I'm sure some of you have experienced that when visiting relatives you haven't seen in a while. They make all sorts of food and make sure you're full and happy. I probably gained about ten good solid pounds. I have to admit, the attention and love they were giving me was awesome! I felt the love.

The second day I was here, me and my Tia Chole (Aunt Chole) went off to visit two of my aunts who live close by. We visited my Tia Conchita and her husband Fran first. She had no idea I was coming and was really happy to see me. She invited us to stay for supper. Ah man, the food was delicious! Nothing like authentic Mexican home cookin'. I love my Tia Conchita. She's a great story teller. Then we visited
Lil' CuzLil' CuzLil' Cuz

My little cuz, Obed.
my Tia Maga. She too was really surprised and happy to see me, along with my cousins. They also fed me.

On Friday, I got to party with two of my cousins. We hit a billiard hall where my cousin Cachi hustled me and my other cousin Toni at pool. We hit up a bar afterwards and enjoyed some good ol' tequila. Yeah, we all got loaded. I had fun.

My family also fed me frog. Actually, one of my cousins told me about how the locals eat frog here, so I asked them to buy me one. It tasted like chicken. It was pretty good. I know I'm eating all sorts of crazy weird shit. Life is about trying things, so why not, right? My experiences with food so far have been good. These experiences have only been in Mexico. I'm just waiting to see what I'll find in Central and South America. Gotta prepare my stomach for that.

While in Celaya I decided to take a trip to San Miguel de Allende for the day. It's about an hour away from Celaya and about an hour and a half from Guanajuato. Me and Naomi planned
FamilyFamilyFamily

My cousin Toni holding my other little cuz, Emiliano.
on meeting there. Naomi commented to me how a Mexican lady she met called it "Gringolandia" (Gringoland). You know what, she was right. There were a lot of Americans there. San Miguel is a small town, but they even had a Starbucks in the downtown area where all the gringos hang out. It's a pretty town. They have a beautiful church. The style of architecture is unlike any other church I've seen in Mexico. There wasn't much to do in San Miguel. Naomi and I saw all the sights in only a few hours....the rest of the time we'd just kick it in parks and plazas making fun of all the dorky looking tourists. We hit up Starbucks too...couldn't help it, I miss my Chai Tea. The town is chill, so you can't help it but relax. We had a hard time leaving the town....also because we were now going our separate ways and we didn't know when we'd see each other again. We became really good friends. I'm gonna miss that kid. "Vi heis du? Vaaaas??! Klaus??!!" Good times.

I really enjoyed the visit to Celaya. I got spoiled here. My family wanted me to stay indefinitely. They
PoolPoolPool

My cousin Cachi hustling.
were so awesome and sweet to me....I hated leaving Celaya. I promised that I would be back for another visit to eat some more frog.

On the road again,
alex






Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

CandyCandy
Candy

Dia de los Muertos candy.
Pizza TimePizza Time
Pizza Time

My cousins Obed and Cesar.
DrinkDrink
Drink

This is how they give you to-go drinks in Mexico.
Frog?Frog?
Frog?

You want me to eat what??
FrogFrog
Frog

I wasn't eating rana (frog) by myself. Tasted like chicken.
DrinksDrinks
Drinks

Getting my drink on with my cousins.
GrubGrub
Grub

Ate some delicious "montelayo" and "barbacoa". Hey Julio, na na na na na nahhhh!
FamilyFamily
Family

Playing cards after dinner. My tia broke out the tequila.
FamiliaFamilia
Familia

My Tia Maga and my cousins.
Juan CarlosJuan Carlos
Juan Carlos

Making some fish fillets. Can you see why I feel I gained 10 pounds?!
Ice CreamIce Cream
Ice Cream

My cousin Coca taking me out for an ice cream. Got spoiled I'm telling ya!
Tia CholeTia Chole
Tia Chole

Me and my Tia Chole. Gonna miss her.
San Miguel de AllendeSan Miguel de Allende
San Miguel de Allende

This is the Parroquia de San Miguel Arcangel.
San Miguel de AllendeSan Miguel de Allende
San Miguel de Allende

Chillin' at Parque Benito Juarez.
San Miguel de AllendeSan Miguel de Allende
San Miguel de Allende

Naomi getting in the way of my artistic photography skills.
San Miguel de AllendeSan Miguel de Allende
San Miguel de Allende

Da streets in San Miguel.
San Miguel de AllendeSan Miguel de Allende
San Miguel de Allende

The local police in San Miguel.


22nd October 2008

cool shit- Familia rocks!!!!
I know the feeling, Man. Every time I go to Guadalajara and Zacatecas my tias want to feed me all day and night- AND EVERYTHING!!!!!! Fucken Good Shit!!! Well, keep on the good the pix and ten cuidado!!! Dia de los muertos is just around the corner and it's the Shit when you are part of the Celebrations. Cuidate Carnal!!!

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0294s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb