The Market


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guanajuato
December 7th 2005
Published: January 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The MarketThe MarketThe Market

Here is a shot from Embajadores
One of my many daily agenda items is to go to the store. It seems that no matter what my day involves me getting something> Fresh fruit, candy, meat, bread, soap. The good thing about going to the store is that it allows me to get out practice my Spanish and interact with folks. The bad thing is that there is only one major super market in Guanajuanto, and it just so happens to be like 2.5 miles away. Now that isn’t all that bad going, but coming back with bags and walking up hill is a real bitch. In between La Commercial (that is the super market) and our apartment there are like a dozen stores and two open air markets but like stores everywhere one has one thing while not having like the other 9 things you need. I go here for the packaged stuff and produce. Most everything else is bought at specialty stores>bread stores, bakeries, butchers.

There are two major open-air markets> Mercado Hidalgo and La Embajadores. These places are really cool because for one they sell everything (these are where I get my DVD’s) and secondly you can haggle a bit here. Mercado Hidalgo is very much like the city market in Indy> people shop, eat and socialize here from sun up to sun down. The funny thing is that at both markets the chicken vendors and the bootleg rap music folks always solicit me. I guess stereotypes are global. But I can’t front, I always do see what they have to offer.

Another great thing about the outdoor markets are the street venders. There is my man selling fresh cooked potato chips w/ hot sauce and lime juice (BTW lime juice makes everything taste better), the fresh fruit guys with pint sized containers filled with fruit (No watermelon for me-I isn’t that type of negro) and my Favorite is the churro guy. For you that have never had churros, they are like long slim donuts with cinnamon and sugar, usually with a vanilla or strawberry flavor. These are by far my favorite snack, but the crappy thing is that you can only get them on Sunday and the guy is never in the same place twice. It is an event finding them, but in the end it is worth it. And all these thing are no more than $1.50 U.S.

For all measure of things food is pretty cheap here. So cheap in fact that I might slap the folks back home for what they charge for stuff. Here is a list of what things cost in Guanajuanto. (For the sake of not getting out my calculator, I’ll round up and covert to pounds and U.S. Dollars)

Limes - 2lbs. - $0.75
Tortillas (fresh baked) - 2lbs.- $0.55
Steak (still pulsing) - $3.25 per lb
Bread (fresh baked) - 3 Loaves - $1.25

But the best part is the Alcohol. I am thoroughly surprised that everyone isn’t walking around staggering or just completely faded before 1:00. A Gallon of Premium Tequila (Corrello or Jimador Repasado) is $20. I bought a 1/5 of Bacardi for $6.25. Now it did hurt my heart that there was no Hennessey or Crown. Beer is even better. The best I have had here is Pacifico. My other favorite is Corona Modelo (it's a darker and stronger version of Corona). You can get a six-pack of Brew for $2.85. Thing that is wack is that they don’t sell brew by the case, unless you by 24 and just ask for a box. And even still the price is excellent. So for all y’all howling at these crack head beverage prices, don’t fret> I make sure I have a brew or three at every meal and a nightcap religiously (I have a slight buzz now).

There are few things that I can’t get here that I miss, but hey, when in Rome... I must say that I enjoy the food missions to the utmost. I wouldn’t mind if more things where like this in the states.

Hasta luego y Salud.


Advertisement



8th December 2005

Al Capone
with those L prices we need to start bootlegging and smuggling like its the 20's

Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb